The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Speeding in Louisiana can be costly, especially since car insurance in the state is already some of the most expensive in the nation. In addition to fines, it’s also important to understand how speeding tickets affect your car insurance rates. The average car insurance premium in Louisiana for drivers with a clean record is $805 for minimum coverage, while full coverage averages $2,909. After a single speeding ticket, however, those averages increase to $996 for minimum and $3,535 for full coverage. Bankrate’s insurance editorial team explains the implications of getting a speeding ticket in Louisiana.
How much is a speeding ticket in Louisiana?
So how much is a speeding ticket in Louisiana? Drivers in the Bayou State, like most, will first face speeding ticket fines. The cost of a speeding ticket in Louisiana varies depending on the county where the incident occurred and the speed the driver was going over the posted limit, but will generally be between $100-$300.
For example, in Baton Rouge, speeding 1-30 miles over the limit will result in a fine of $144. Louisiana is one of the few states that does not use a points system that can lead to a license suspension after a certain number of violations.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Louisiana?
Will your car insurance go up for a speeding ticket in Louisiana? It’s likely. Getting a speeding ticket in Louisiana typically results in a 22 percent rate increase on average for your car insurance, and car insurance companies generally assess this surcharge for three to five years. Overall, the rate you’ll pay both before and after a ticket depends on several factors, including your age and gender, as well as the type of car you drive and where in the state you live. For instance, men tend to pay a slightly higher rate than women because they have been shown statistically to have more at-fault accidents. To compensate for that, insurers may charge more for their premiums. Since Louisiana’s car insurance premiums are already on the high side, any increase could hurt your wallet.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percentage increase|
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Louisiana
It’s never a good thing to get a speeding ticket, but it doesn’t have to impact your insurance forever. How long does a speeding ticket stay on your record in Louisiana? Generally, it will be noted on your driving record for three years—and that’s often how long it will take for your insurer to drop the higher cost after you are found guilty of speeding. But even before those three years are up, there are strategies you can use to get more affordable car insurance in Louisiana.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Car insurance rates in Louisiana can vary a lot by company. If your car insurance rate increases after a speeding ticket, consider getting quotes from other companies and see if you can find a cheaper premium elsewhere. You can typically switch insurance companies at any point during your policy period without paying any cancellation fees.
In the table below, you can see the average rates before and after a speeding ticket from some of the biggest car insurance companies in Louisiana; note how dramatically the average increase after a speeding ticket varies.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket in Louisiana||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket in Louisiana||Percentage increase|
|Louisiana Farm Bureau||$2,302||$2,419||5%|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$1,860||$2,073||11%|
When looking for the best car insurance in Louisiana after a ticket, make sure to pay attention to factors besides price, like the coverage options, endorsements and discounts available. Also consider looking into the company’s customer service reviews and financial strength ratings from third-party organizations like J.D. Power and AM Best.
Look for discounts
It’s common for insurers to offer discounts to policyholders, and many of them are easy to access. Qualifying for one or more could save you a percentage off your premium, helping to make up for any post-ticket increases. Here are a few of the more common ways to save with discounts in Louisiana:
- Take a safe driver course: You can often earn a small discount by taking a defensive driving course. A state-mandated course can even result in the dismissal of your ticket from your driving record. These courses are held both online and in-person, and are generally inexpensive.
- Sign up for a telematics program: If your insurer offers a telematics program, and you are a safe and careful driver, you may save up to 40 percent off your premium by allowing your insurer to monitor your driving in real time.
- Earn a loyalty discount: Loyalty discounts take a range of forms. The most significant savings typically come from bundling your car and home policies. You may also be eligible for savings if you have more than one car insured on your policy. You may even earn a lower rate if you stay with the same carrier for a number of years.
- Set up online payments: Using paperless billing, automatic payments, or payment-in-full can often save you some money.
Frequently asked questions
There is no single best car insurance company for drivers with a history of speeding tickets. Regardless of driving record, the best car insurance provider is unique to each individual, based on their coverage needs, location and budget. Identify what’s most important to you, then select a few companies to get quotes from; be sure to request the same coverage types and levels so you can accurately compare the results before selecting.
Your insurance company won’t be immediately notified about your speeding ticket, but you do not need to report it. Insurance companies typically review your driving record when your policy is up for renewal and assess any surcharges then.
There is no one company that always has the cheapest rates for all drivers. To find the company that will give you the most affordable rate, ask for quotes from some of the companies that are known for cheap car insurance to see which one offers you the best premium for your needs. You may also want to take other factors into consideration, such as discount offerings, customer satisfaction scores and financial strength ratings.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.