Your driving history is one of the most crucial factors taken into account by car insurance companies when you purchase a policy. Any spotty record, no matter how trivial, is enough to potentially make annual car insurance premiums higher than average. And when there is a DUI conviction on a driving record, drivers can be considered high-risk, often meaning more expensive premiums for the years to come. In Oregon, full coverage car insurance costs an average of $2,301 after a DUI, about 71% higher than the state average of $1,346.
In 2018 alone, there were 153 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities in Oregon and the number has been on an incline. For state residents that have been involved in a DUI, not only are there laws and Oregon DUI penalty consequences to be aware of, but also the price that you have to pay for car insurance when your driving record is no longer clean.
DUI laws in Oregon
Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) can be classified as a Class A misdemeanor or felony in Oregon and could come with significant penalties for those convicted. If a motorist is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, or under the influence of other controlled substances, penalties could include jail time, community service, fines and license suspension.
For the first offense, imprisonment can vary between 48 hours and one year and may be reduced with 80 hours of community service. Related fines are typically $1,000 or $2,000 if BAC is more than 0.15%, but may also rise to $10,000 if there was a passenger under 18 years in the vehicle. License suspension and an ignition interlock device requirement may last a year. Jail penalties are similar for the second DUI offense in Oregon, although fines could start at $1,500, with up to three years of license suspension and two years of ignition interlock.
The third and repeat offenses may be classified as Class C felony and bring up to five years in prison, up to $125,000 in fines (if convicted) and a permanent license suspension.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Oregon
A DUII (or DUI) in Oregon can mean a severe blow to a driving record and will typically remain there for 10 years. When there is a DUI on driving history, insurance companies generally consider it high-risk driver behavior because of the increased likelihood of causing an accident. This often leads to a higher annual premium since the insurer is trying to protect itself against the additional risk incurred. Besides the price hike, drivers may also be denied coverage by some other insurance companies and their current insurer could also refuse to renew their policy.
The national average cost of full coverage car insurance is $1,674 per year and after a DUI, it goes up to $3,129 per year on average, which is an 87% increase. While Oregon’s average for full coverage is slightly cheaper at $1,346 annually, after a DUII it rises to $2,301 per year on average. If your license was suspended, you may need your insurance company to file an SR-22 form for you. Keep in mind that not all car insurance companies file SR-22 forms, and to make this possible, you may need to seek the service of a different provider.
The table below showcases average premiums after a DUI in Oregon compares to the national average:
|Pre-DUI (DUII)||Post-DUI (DUII)||Percent increase|
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Oregon
It is not impossible to find car insurance after a DUI conviction. The difficulty lies in getting coverage that is affordable. In Oregon, the most competitive rates after a DUI may be offered by State Farm at around $1,248 per year on average for full coverage. Progressive follows at $1,528 per year on average. If you are willing to pay more, American Family has full coverage for high-risk for $2,001 on average in Oregon. Oregon residents could also find high-risk coverage from Country Financial for an average of $1,965 per year. For military families, USAA may prove to be a good mid-year option at $1,667 per year on average.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI (DUII)|
DUI convictions could potentially increase car insurance rates for at least 10 years while it remains on a driving record. However, points for the incident alone may fall off gradually over time. Most insurers offer discounts to eligible customers, but it helps to build a clean driving record over two or three years to apply as many discounts as possible. Practicing safe driving habits is the first step towards lowering your insured risk.
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Oregon affect my criminal record?
In Oregon, a DUII remains on criminal records permanently and driving record for at least 10 years. Aside from car insurance, it may also impact other areas of a person’s life. Whether renting a house or applying for jobs, a criminal record with a DUI conviction may be counted as a factor in personal eligibility, especially if a clean history is mandatory.
What is the difference between DUI and DWI?
DUI stands for driving under the influence and is called DUII in Oregon for “driving under the influence of intoxicants.” DWI stands for driving while intoxicated or impaired. Both DUI and DWI essentially mean the same thing and may be used interchangeably in different states, although the penalties for each may differ.
What is an SR-22?
If a driver license is revoked after a DUI, drivers may need their insurance company to file an SR-22 form to the DMV for license reinstatement. An SR-22 form establishes that you have sufficient financial and insurance coverage required to legally drive again. Not all insurance companies file an SR-22 and the DMV has the right to reject your application if all conditions are not met.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base) and single DUI conviction.