A DUI or DWI in Oklahoma increased average full coverage premiums by about 50%, based on Bankrate.com’s review of quoted annual premiums from Quadrant Information Services. This is considerably less than the national average increase of 99%, based on available data. However, 50% is not a guarantee. Drivers with a DUI conviction may pay more or less depending on their past driving history and traffic violations. If this is not your first DUI conviction, you will likely pay significantly more.
Because of the insurance costs associated with a DUI conviction, shopping around will help drivers find the best rate. Some insurance companies do not increase rates for high-risk drivers as much as others. If an existing policy cannot be renewed after a DUI conviction is factored in, it is even more important for drivers to get quotes before their policy lapses.
DUI laws in Oklahoma
Oklahoma DUI laws indicate that if you are driving with a BAC of 0.08% or greater, you are considered legally drunk. However, it is still possible to get an Oklahoma DUI if your BAC is less than 0.08% while driving, if it is clear you are under the influence of alcohol.
Oklahoma DUI penalties vary based on your previous driving history and whether or not you have been convicted of a DUI in the past. The chart below outlines possible penalties you may receive depending on whether or not this is your first, second or third conviction.
|Jail||Fines||License Revocation||Ignition Interlock Device|
|1st Conviction||10 days to 1 year||$1,000 or less||180 days||Up to 18 months|
|2nd Conviction||1-5 years||$2,500 or less||1 year||6 months to 3 years|
|3rd Conviction||1-10 years||$5,000 or less||3 years||3 years|
The penalties above are so severe because drunk driving, to this day, is still one of the leading causes of death on America’s roadways. Currently, drinking and driving is the cause of over 30% of all traffic related deaths, leading to the death of about 10,000 people each year in the United States. According to the Center for Disease Control’s latest report, about 1.8% of drivers drive after drinking too much in Oklahoma.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Oklahoma
The cost of a DUI in Oklahoma, as far as it affects insurance, is around a 50% increase for full coverage premiums, based on quoted premiums. The 2021 average cost for full coverage car insurance in Oklahoma is $1,873 a year; with a DUI conviction factored in, that number jumps to $2,809.
While Oklahoma is more expensive than the national average on the basis of pre-DUI rates, it is considerably less when compared to post-DUI rates. The national average for car insurance pre-DUI is $1,674, while post-DUI it is $3,336 — an increase of nearly 100%.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
At bare minimum, drivers may expect a significant rise in their car insurance premiums after a DUI, but the insurance implications can extend beyond a rate increase in some instances. Some insurance providers may decide that a driver is too risky to insure and cancel their policy altogether (if this is the case, typically the policyholder would be given 30 days notice). Even if a car insurance company does not cancel the policy, when it comes time to renew, an insurer may decide to not approve a policy renewal. Whatever the case may be for a given provider, any driver who gets a DUI conviction in Oklahoma should be aware of the possible impacts to car insurance.
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Oklahoma
Because premiums may increase by a significant margin after getting a DUI in Oklahoma, drivers may want to shop around for the lowest rates; knowing what options are available in case of policy termination or non-renewal, as well as knowing which providers offer the most competitive rates, may be useful for financial and life planning purposes. Because of market share, national carriers may be able to offer the lowest rates after a DUI. However, this can vary widely depending on the driver’s circumstances.
Based on our study of 2021 quoted annual premiums from Quadrant Information Services, Progressive, USAA, Mercury, State Farm and Farmers were the top providers by market share in Oklahoma offering the lowest rates for drivers with a DUI conviction. While these rates may be useful for the sake of comparison, each driver will have a quote that differs based on their unique circumstances.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
If considering switching car insurance companies to get a lower rate after receiving a DUI conviction, drivers should also take into account existing discounts they hold with their current provider. Loyalty discounts may be more valuable than a new policy or switching providers discount. Speak to your current provider and compare options for savings with any you are considering for a new policy.
Here are a few ways you may be able to find greater savings on your car insurance:
- Comparing discounts — Every company offers discounts with a varied level of savings. Some offer unique discounts that may not be available to you with your current provider.
- Increase your deductible — A high deductible will lower the amount of money you receive after filing a claim, but it will also lower the amount of money you pay for your insurance policy as well. Depending on the specific coverage you choose, a higher deductible may result in greater savings overall.
- Improve your credit score — Drivers with low credit scores are statistically more likely to file a claim. Because of this, insurance companies may charge drivers with a less favorable credit history more for a policy. If you improve your credit score, you may see lower rates at the time of renewal (or on a new policy).
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Oklahoma impact my criminal record?
A DUI in Oklahoma will stay on your record for ten years. In addition to possible jail time, drivers may also have to pay a fine, have their license revoked and be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID).
What is an ignition interlock device?
An IID is a breathalyzer installed in a car that prevents it from starting if any alcohol is detected in the driver’s breath.
Does Oklahoma require SR-22 insurance?
No, Oklahoma does not require SR-22 forms to be filed if a driver is convicted of a DUI. However, if you lived in another state that did and you received a DUI there, you will be required to continue filing an SR-22 while living in Oklahoma.
What is a high-risk driver?
A high-risk driver is anyone that is likely to file a claim in the not-so-distant future. Things that typically make a driver risky to insure include past accidents, numerous speeding tickets, being a teenage driver and prior DUI convictions. Some car insurance companies specialize in high-risk drivers, however, which can be helpful if your circumstances require you to look for a new provider.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.