A DUI in Mississippi could cause your average auto insurance premiums to increase by $926 annually. And though this is a significant impact on premiums, it is less than the national average increase of $1,662. When convicted of a DUI, not only can you expect your premiums to increase, but you may find it harder to obtain insurance coverage. A DUI in Mississippi or any state indicates to a carrier you are a high-risk driver, and many will choose not to take on the additional risk.
Bankrate examined rates from Quadrant Information Services to determine the average premiums a driver can expect to pay after a DUI conviction in Mississippi. This information could be beneficial as you are looking for the most competitive rates and best coverage options in your budget after a DUI conviction.
DUI laws in Mississippi
The laws in Mississippi prohibit anyone from driving under the influence of alcohol. If caught, a drunk driver faces serious legal consequences. A driver is considered drunk when their blood alcohol content (BAC) registers at 0.08% or higher.
The penalties for drunk driving in Mississippi are as follows:
- First-time offenders face up to 48 hours of jail time. If it is your second offense, you could face up to one year in jail. A third offense requires a minimum of one year in jail with a maximum sentence of five years.
- First offenses result in a $250 to $1,000 fine plus court costs. Financial penalties for a second offense range from $600 to $1,500 in fines plus court costs. A third offense means a fine of $2,000 to $5,000 plus court costs.
- All convictions require attendance at a court-approved alcohol education class.
- A first offense will get you a license suspension of 30 days, which rises to 45 days for second and subsequent offenses.
- An ignition interlock could be installed on your vehicle for up to six months with the first conviction, up to two years for the second offense, and three to five years for the third or subsequent DUI convictions.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Mississippi
As stated, your auto insurance premiums will likely significantly increase if you are convicted of a DUI in Mississippi. While rates in Mississippi average $1,782 per year without a DUI, once you have a DUI, rates increase dramatically to $2,708 per year. The increase in the national average is even more drastic, with a pre-DUI average of $1,674 versus a post-DUI of $3,336 — almost double the amount.
A DUI or DWI in Mississippi could make it harder to find an insurance carrier willing to offer you coverage. It is also possible your current insurance carrier may deny you coverage when you try to renew your policy. Although keeping or finding new auto insurance with a DUI in Mississippi may be more difficult, it is not impossible.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Mississippi
Finding car insurance after a DUI is not only possible; you can also find carriers with post-DUI premiums that are more affordable than others with a bit of research. First, look for carriers willing to insure high-risk drivers. Then, compare multiple carriers to find both the best rates and coverage options.
Bankrate reviewed several and found rates from Progressive, USAA, State Farm, Geico and Allstate for drivers with a DUI on their record to give you a sense of what to expect. Although your rates may be higher or lower depending on your personal factors, the table below illustrates average annual premiums for these companies with a DUI on your record.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Mississippi impact my criminal record?
Each case is different, but a DUI in Mississippi that results in a criminal conviction will stay on your criminal record forever unless you petition the court to have it expunged. The good news is, the DUI will only remain on your driving record for five years.
How much car insurance do I need?
In addition to the minimum liability requirements in Mississippi, it is usually a good idea to get more comprehensive coverage so that you are financially protected if you need to file a claim. If you lease or finance your car, most lenders require you to purchase the optional comprehensive and collision coverage for greater protection since the vehicle is still their asset to protect. Speak with a licensed insurance agent to determine how much car insurance is right for you.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.