Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is considered a major traffic violation like driving while intoxicated (DWI). A DUI can result in having your drivers license revoked or suspended, court fines, jail time and a hike in insurance premiums. After obtaining a DUI in Delaware, you will be considered a high-risk driver to many insurance companies so it will be difficult to find a car insurance company that won’t raise your insurance rates significantly.
On average, Delaware drivers pay $787 for minimum coverage and $1,775 for full coverage. However, after a DUI, the average price of car insurance in Delaware is $3,302 which makes the average increase in annual premiums in Delaware about 86.02 percent. In the U.S., drivers can expect annual full coverage premiums to go up anywhere from $800 to $3,000 per year, depending on the insurance coverage, carrier, and location.
DUI laws in Delaware
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs can impact not only you, but the lives of other drivers. Therefore, it is considered a criminal offense in many states, including in the state of Delaware. If you are caught driving behind the wheel with a blood alcohol content of .05 percent or higher, you will be arrested. Additionally, you can face other penalties such as having your license suspended or revoked for a period of time and being charged with hefty fines.
According to Delaware laws, a person can be charged with a DUI if they are caught driving or operating any vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The punishment for DUI depends on if you have been convicted of DUI multiple times. Fines and license suspension will be different between course, however general, Delaware drivers who are convicted of a DUI can expect the following:
- For a first DUI offense, you can expect a fine of up to $1,500, up to 12 months in jail and up to 2 years of having your license revoked.
- For a second DUI offense and subsequent offenses, you can expect to pay a fine up to $2,500, mandatory jail time of a minimum of 60 days to 18 months and up to 30 months of license revocation.
DUI convictions will stay on your driving record for five years. In addition to fines, imprisonment, and license revocation, in order to have your license reinstated, you may have to go through additional processes. The process includes completing an alcohol education program, paying all fines, paying a reinstatement fee of $200, a defensive driving course and a license re-examination.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Delaware
The average cost of car insurance in Delaware for minimum coverage is $787 and for full coverage is $1,775. The average cost of car insurance in Delaware after receiving a DUI, however, is about $3,302 per year. Nationally, drivers can expect to pay an increase of $800 to $3,000 in their car insurance after a DUI. The price varies nationally depending on insurance coverage, carrier and geographic location.
Once a DUI is obtained, the reason insurance rates increase so much is due to the fact that you will be considered a high-risk driver. Obtaining a DUI is against the law and results in a lot of consequences. The riskier it is for an insurance company to insure you, the higher your costs will be. Some insurance providers may not even cover you for insurance if you have obtained a DUI. If you already have car insurance, your insurance carrier may not allow you to renew your policy.
The table below shows the rates of Delaware car insurance before and after a DUI and the percent increase as compared to the national average.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Delaware
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Delaware can be difficult. Depending on how many DUIs you have been convicted of, many car insurance companies may reject your insurance application. The best car insurance companies that offer the best rates for DUI, based on Bankrate’s research include Progressive, USAA, State Farm, Sentry and Travelers. The average annual premium of each car insurance company after a DUI are listed in the chart below.
While Progressive offers the cheapest average annual premium after a DUI, there are discounts that can be applied to lower your costs down. For example, after completing a Delaware defensive driving course, you may be able to apply that discount towards your insurance policy if your insurance offers this discount.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Delaware impact my criminal record?
A DUI in Delaware is considered a criminal offense and is illegal. You will have your driving privileges immediately revoked and you may even be arrested. Additionally, you will be held accountable for a DUI and any other traffic violation that is found at the time of your arrest.
Will a DUI in Delaware impact my ability to obtain cheap car insurance?
Yes, a DUI in Delaware will prevent you from getting the lowest car insurance rate that you can possibly get. On average, after obtaining a DUI, you can expect your car insurance rates to go up by about 80 percent. Some car insurance companies may not even insure you.
Which car insurance companies offer insurance after DUI?
Some of the major car insurance companies like Progressive, State Farm, and Travelers, to name a few, still offer car insurance after a DUI. These insurance companies may even have better rates than other insurance companies.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.