Auto insurance after a DUI in Connecticut

1

At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here’s an explanation for

A DUI is one of the most serious offences that you can have on your driving record. DUIs come with numerous penalties in Connecticut, including rising car insurance premiums. If you have been convicted of a DUI in Connecticut, you should be aware of how your car insurance company may react and other consequences that you may face so that you can prepare.

How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?

A DUI conviction will very likely cause your insurance rates to increase. Drivers convicted of DUIs are viewed as high-risk by insurance providers. Premiums are increased to offset the risk of insuring a driver who may cause a serious accident.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that almost 30 people in the United States die each day due to drunk driving accidents. Over 10,500 people lost their lives as a result of drunk driving in 2018. Additionally, despite a downward trend, drunk driving is still the leading cause of death on America’s roads.

Because of the serious nature of DUIs, insurance companies generally charge quite a bit more for car insurance if you have a DUI conviction than they do for drivers whose driving records are clean.

National vs state average rates with DUI

Pre-DUI Post-DUI Percent Increase
National $1,674 $3,336 99%
Connecticut $1,845 $3,426 86%

Nationally, the average annual full coverage premium after a DUI is nearly double. For drivers in Connecticut, the percentage increase is slightly less than the national average, at 86%. However, even though the percentage increase is not as high as the national average, drivers in Connecticut should still expect a hefty increase in their premiums after a DUI.

How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Connecticut?

Since every insurance company has its own rating system, the average price for insurance after a DUI varies. The severity of your DUI conviction, as well as factors like your past driving record and the type of car you drive, will have an impact on your premium. Some insurance companies may choose to non-renew your policy after a DUI, meaning that you will need to seek car insurance elsewhere.

Connecticut provider minimum coverage rates

The rates below may not reflect changes as some carriers will not renew if you have a DUI conviction.

Provider Average annual minimum coverage rate Minimum coverage annual rate with DUI
Allstate $804 $1,168
American Independent $1,739 $2,269
Amica $430 $1,142
Electric Insurance Company $890 $1,826
Geico $427 $1,085
MetLife $1,176 $2,652
Nationwide $631 $973
Progressive $1,083 $1,233
State Farm $618 $886
The Hanover $1,569 $3,142
USAA $472 $1,048

Connecticut provider full coverage rates with DUI

The rates below may not reflect changes as some carriers will not renew if you have a DUI conviction.

Provider Average annual full coverage rate Full coverage annual rate with DUI
Allstate $2,017 $2,915
American Independent $5,042 $6,847
Amica $1,216 $3,379
Electric Insurance Company $1,535 $3,081
Geico $1,071 $2,672
MetLife $2,097 $4,664
Nationwide $1,280 $2,262
Progressive $2,573 $2,961
State Farm $1,477 $2,081
The Hanover $3,867 $7,045
USAA $1,264 $2,607

Other Connecticut DUI consequences

In addition to an increase in insurance rates, a DUI conviction typically comes with a variety of other penalties. These may include fines, license suspension, jail time, community service and driving classes, among others. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car, also called an IID. An IID is essentially an in-car breathalyzer that will prevent a car’s engine from starting if a driver’s breath indicates alcohol use.

If you injure or kill someone while drinking and driving, you should expect the consequences to be severe.

Frequently asked questions

What is an SR-22, and will I need one after being convicted of a DUI in Connecticut?

An SR-22 is confirmation sent from your insurance company to the DMV that states you have at least the minimum amount of insurance required by the state. If you are convicted of a DUI, it is highly likely a judge will require you to file an SR-22 form. An SR-22 proves to the state that you are responsibly maintaining car insurance and complying with state law.

Is a DUI a felony in Connecticut?

Your first DUI is not generally considered a felony in Connecticut. However, if you are convicted of multiple DUIs, you may be charged with a felony.

What is the legal BAC limit in Connecticut?

If you are over 21 years of age and driving a personal vehicle, a BAC of .08 is considered “elevated” and is grounds for being charged with a DUI in Connecticut. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, the level drops to .04, and if you are under 21 years old, the level is .02.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC

These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.