There are nearly 28 deaths each day in the U.S. caused by driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or DUI. It is different from a DWI, which is when you are driving while intoxicated under any substance. However, both DUIs and DWIs are illegal in the U.S., and if convicted of either of them, the penalties are largely alike with fines, imprisonment and license revocation. In Alaska, after being convicted of a DUI, in addition to the penalties that come with breaking the law, your ability to secure affordable car insurance can be impacted for years to come.
On average, Alaska drivers pay $1,559 for car insurance before a DUI. However, there is a 55 percent increase after a DUI, resulting in a cost of $2,416. In the U.S., on average, drivers will see a 99 percent increase after being convicted of a DUI.
DUI laws in Alaska
In Alaska, the law prohibits anyone from driving while drunk. Drivers operating a non-commercial vehicle and are over 21 are considered intoxicated when their blood alcohol level is .08 or more. For commercial vehicle drivers, driving with a blood-alcohol level of .04 or more is considered a DUI. For drivers under 21, any alcohol concentration in their blood is considered a DUI.
The penalties for driving while drunk in Alaska are as follows:
- For a first offense, drivers face 72 hours in jail, a minimum $1,500 fine and license suspension for at least 90 days.
- For a second offense within 15 years of the first DUI, drivers face 20 days in jail, a minimum of $3,000 fine and driver’s license suspension for at least one year.
- For the third offense within 15 years of the second DUI, drivers face 60 days in jail, a minimum of $4,000 fine and driver’s license revocation of at least three years. If the third offense occurs within 10 years from any of the other offenses, the driver will have to face a minimum of 120 days in jail, a $10,000 minimum fine and 10 years of driver’s license revocation.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Alaska
In the state of Alaska, a DUI is illegal. In addition to the state penalties you will have to face, a DUI conviction will impact your ability to obtain car insurance for years to come. Even if you already have car insurance, having a DUI on your record will affect your ability to renew your car insurance policy. Your insurer may reject your request to renew. A DUI conviction in Alaska is a serious criminal offense, and insurance companies will see you as a high-risk driver. If you can get car insurance after being convicted of a DUI, your car insurance rates will increase.
The average car insurance increase rate in Alaska after a DUI is 55 percent. Each car insurance company has different application processes, underwriting, coverage and rates. However, all car insurance companies will ask for your driving history. Some may even require you to take a defensive driving course before granting you a policy. To get the best car insurance after a DUI, it is a good idea to research multiple car insurance companies to find one that specializes in high-risk drivers.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Alaska
After being convicted of a DUI in Alaska, finding car insurance can be difficult. As a high-risk driver, you will be seen negatively by insurance companies because of the insurance risks you pose. While some car insurance companies in Alaska may deny you coverage altogether, others may require you to pay a higher premium.
The average annual premium after a DUI for a few car insurance companies we selected in Alaska is shown in the chart below. While Progressive is the most competitive on our list, there may be other companies in your area that could offer you a better rate, so it is crucial to do your research and find the best car insurance for you. USAA comes in at a close second, but it is important to note that this company only insures military members and their families.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Alaska impact my criminal record?
A DUI in Alaska will stay on your record for life, which is one of the harsher penalties in the U.S. Your driver’s license will accrue 10 points after a DUI, and two points will fall off every two years you do not re-offend. Your ability to be approved for car insurance, apply for jobs, and pass background checks will all be impacted by a DUI conviction in Alaska.
Can I still get discounts on car insurance after a DUI?
Many car insurance companies offer discounts, however, the list of discounts varies depending on the company. Even after you get a DUI, the best way to reduce your costs is to look for car insurance companies that offer a list of discounts that apply to you.
Why will car insurance rates go up in Alaska after a DUI?
Once you are convicted of a DUI, it will show up on your background and criminal records. Your insurance company will also be notified. You will be seen as a high-risk driver, therefore increasing your car insurance premiums.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.