Finding car insurance in Alabama after a DUI

1
Adventure_Photo/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

The average cost of car insurance increases 92% in Alabama for drivers with a DUI. This means that most drivers convicted of a DUI or DWI in Alabama will pay almost double for car insurance, based on Bankrate.com’s study of 2021 quoted annual premiums from Quadrant Information Services. While this amount is significant, it is not dissimilar to the trend nationwide; the national average cost of car insurance increases about 99% for drivers who receive a DUI conviction.

DUI laws in Alabama

A DUI in Alabama is defined in the following ways:

  • Driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .08% or more (drivers aged 21+)
  • Driving while under the influence of any type of drug that inhibits the motorist’s ability to safely drive

Our study of quoted annual premiums reflects the conviction associated with a BAC of .08 or higher. The Alabama DUI penalties vary depending on the conviction count; penalties escalate after every offense. Below is a penalty chart from 1st to 4th offense.

Jail Time Fine License Suspension/ Revocation/IID
1st Offense Up to a year $600 minimum, $2,100 maximum 90 days suspension, or ignition interlock for 90 days
2nd Offense 5 days minimum, up to a year $1,100 minimum, $5,100 maximum 45 day revocation minimum. 1 year revocation, or ignition interlock for 2 years
3rd Offense 60 days minimum, up to a year $2,100 minimum, up to $10,100 60 day minimum license revocation. 3 year revocation or ignition interlock for 3 years.
4th Offense A year and a day minimum, up to 10 years $4,100 minimum, up to $10,100 Minimum revocation for 1 year. 5 year revocation, or ignition interlock for 4 years.

How a DUI affects your car insurance in Alabama

Car insurance companies consider many factors to determine the price of a car insurance premium, with the overall purpose of assessing the risk the driver represents to insure. Factors such as what type of car driven, specific ZIP code, driver age and credit score can all be indicative of what type of risk the driver represents, and the likelihood they might get into a car accident and file a claim one day. DUI convictions being taken into account for determining insurance premiums is based on years of analyzed data and is often accurate in predicting the likelihood of an incident, which could be costly to insurers.

Drivers with a DUI are statistically more likely to engage in risky behavior again in the future. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration found that ⅓ of all DUI arrests are of repeat offenders. When you consider that drunk driving is still a leading cause of death on America’s roadways, it is easy to see why car insurance companies either charge drivers convicted of a DUI more, or decide to drop them altogether.

The true DUI cost in Alabama is significant. Drivers convicted of a DUI in this state can expect to pay an average of 92% more for car insurance. This means that, on average, most drivers in this state will have an annual premium of over $3,100 for full coverage, which is actually a little less than the national average of 99%, or over $3,300 for full coverage. Drivers who are ineligible for coverage from one provider may have to compare quotes from others, and will therefore see rates different from the averages presented here.

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percent increase
Alabama $1,623 $3,121 +92%
National average $1,674 $3,336 +99%

Finding car insurance after a DUI in Alabama

Bankrate compared top companies by market share offering insurance in Alabama to evaluate the average premiums charged for drivers convicted of a DUI. You may notice that these are national providers. In many cases, it may be cheaper to use a national provider, as distributing risk across so many policies allows for overall lower rates. However, not all high-risk drivers will be eligible for these providers, and rates can still vary widely depending on each driver’s circumstances.

Car insurance company Average annual premium after a DUI
Progressive $2,067
USAA $2,126
State Farm $2,481
Country Financial $2,710
Travelers $2,906

Drivers with a DUI conviction in Alabama who are comparing rates should also take into account available discounts. Some discounts are not dependent on the driver’s record and may be easier to qualify for and reduce premiums. If eligible, drivers may also be able to participate in telematics or safe driving-based discount opportunities. To get a true quote, you will likely need to call each provider and speak with an agent about your situation and the discounts you would receive.

Frequently asked questions

How will a DUI in Alabama impact my permanent record?

A DUI in Alabama stays on your record for the rest of your life. It does not expire or disappear.

Can an out-of-state DUI affect my sentencing in Alabama?

Yes, any DUI you receive in another state could potentially escalate any penalties you receive in Alabama. However, it is possible it might not affect your case if the conviction from the other state is five years or older.

Does Alabama require SR-22 insurance?

Contrary to what you may have read online, an SR-22 is not a type of insurance. An SR-22 is simply proof of insurance required in specific states for drivers convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as a DUI. An SR-22 is confirmation from your insurance provider that you are indeed insured with at least the minimum amount of coverage as is required by Alabama. Should you cancel your policy, your provider will also notify the DMV that you are no longer insured through them.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Lauren Ward
Insurance Contributor
Lauren Ward has nearly 10 years of experience in writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate, The Simple Dollar, and Reviews.com. She covers auto, homeowners, and life insurance, as well other topics in the personal finance industry.
Edited by
Insurance Editor