What to do after a hit and run in Wyoming
The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
If you are involved in a hit-and-run accident in Wyoming, the average cost of insurance in the Cowboy State could skyrocket from $1,495 per year to $2,852 for a full coverage policy. These amounts are based on 2021 rates pulled from Quadrant Information Services. In addition to hefty insurance premiums, there are serious penalties for a hit-and-run conviction, including fines and possible jail time. Wyoming has one of the highest incidence rates of fatal crashes per 100,000 in the country, and hit-and-runs are as serious here as they are in other parts of the country.
Hit-and-runs in Wyoming
A hit-and-run accident in Wyoming is defined as one where a driver flees the accident scene without stopping. Fleeing the scene of an accident is illegal in Wyoming, and the consequences are severe. Whether there are injuries or not, or any kind of property damage, a driver is required to stop when involved in an accident.
Wyoming hit-and-run laws
There are two different scenarios for drivers caught fleeing the scene of an accident. Wyoming law dictates if a driver is convicted of a hit-and-run, but the accident only caused property damage, then the punishment is a misdemeanor at the minimum.
If the hit-and-run causes injuries and/or death, the consequences are more severe. If convicted, the driver will be charged with a felony. The fine could be up to $5,000, and the driver could spend up to one year in jail if convicted.
How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Wyoming
In addition to steep penalties, the impact of a hit-and-run accident is evident in increased auto insurance premiums. In fact, if you are charged and convicted of a hit-and-run in Wyoming, you might expect your premiums to double. The average cost of car insurance in Wyoming is around $1,495 per year for full coverage, but the average rate is $2,852 per year for the same coverage with a hit-and-run conviction.
Wyoming also requires you to file an SR-22 form due to a license suspension. Driver’s license suspension in Wyoming requires a $50 reinstatement fee. The SR-22, which your car insurance company issues as proof that you have obtained the minimum amount of liability coverage required in Wyoming, will be required until an agreed-upon date.
|Before a hit-and-run||After a hit-and-run||After a standard accident|
Four things to do after a hit-and-run in Wyoming
Car accidents are frightening enough, but when you add a hit-and-run to the scenario, it can take stress to another level. If you are the victim of a hit-and-run, the most important priority is the safety of you and your passengers. Once that has been addressed, you can move on to the next steps.
Secure medical assistance if needed
After an accident, the first thing you must do is call for medical assistance if you or any other people involved in the crash are injured, even if the injuries seem minor.
Quickly gather details of the hit-and-run driver and car
If possible, take photos, videos or write down notes about anything you see or remember from the accident. A minor detail could end up helping later on, especially if you have information about the hit-and-run driver or their vehicle.
Call the police
Getting the police involved and filing a police report is the next step. Your insurance carrier will ask for a copy of the police report, so it’s critical to take care of this item.
File an insurance claim
You will need to file an insurance claim as soon as possible, usually within a day or two of the accident. The information you took down from the accident will be pivotal in helping your car insurance carrier process your claim.
Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?
Your car insurance policy may help with your expenses related to a hit-and-run accident in Wyoming. But your auto insurance policy needs to include certain types of coverage which are typically optional.
If you have collision coverage included in your policy, it could pay for expenses related to damage to your vehicle up to your policy limits. Collision insurance will only cover your vehicle damage and pays nothing towards medical costs or lost wages.
If you opt for personal injury protection (PIP), you may receive reimbursement for expenses related to medical costs for both you and your passengers, up to your policy limits. If you have uninsured motorist coverage, this could also help with medical expenses and property damage to your car, up to your policy limits.
Frequently asked questions
How much does car insurance cost?
The average cost of car insurance in Wyoming is $1,495 for full coverage, according to Bankrate’s 2021 study of quoted annual premiums. The national average is $1,674 per year, putting Wyoming’s average cost well below the national average. These quoted rates are averages, and your actual rates will be based on your personal circumstances and may vary.
Does Wyoming require drivers to purchase auto insurance?
Yes, Wyoming requires minimum liability coverage to legally drive in the state. Minimum coverage car insurance in Wyoming must include at least $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 bodily injury per accident and $20,000 in property damage liability per accident. This is only the minimum requirement but you should work with a licensed insurance agent to determine the right coverage for your situation. Uninsured motorist coverage must be offered by your car insurance company, but you can decline it in writing. If you prefer not to purchase the minimum amount of car insurance required, you do have the option of using a surety bond of $25,000 deposit with the Wyoming treasury instead.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.