The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
If you are a Virginia driver with a speeding ticket on your driving record, in addition to the civil penalties associated with the infraction, you are likely to see an increase in your car insurance rate. The average premium for drivers in Virginia with a clean record is $1,439 for full coverage and $494 for minimum coverage. After a speeding conviction, however, average rates increase to $1,743 for full coverage and $597 for minimum insurance, based on Bankrate’s research — an increase of roughly 21 percent.
How much is a speeding ticket in Virginia?
Rather than a set fee, per Virginia state law, the fine if you are caught speeding is $6 for every mile over the limit in addition to a $51 processing fee. In a school or construction zone, the fine for speeding increases to $7 per mile over the limit. Exceeding the speed limit in a residential district incurs an $8 per mile over fine, plus a $200 fee.
For example, if you’re wondering how much a 15-over speeding ticket is in Virginia, remember that it will partly depend on where you are when you are caught speeding. But expect to pay at least $141 ($6 times 15, plus $51).
You may also face other penalties, depending on your speed. Excessive speeding can lead to license suspension. If you are convicted of driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit, it may be considered reckless driving, which is a class 1 misdemeanor and can result in fines, possible jail time and a criminal record.
In addition, speeding tickets in Virginia could result in points added to your license. After a certain number of points on your record, your license may be suspended. Each speeding violation results in four points and will stay on your record for five years.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Virginia?
Age and gender play a role in determining how much you will pay for car insurance in Virginia, as rates are based on assessed risk. Young drivers and males have been statistically shown to exhibit riskier driving behaviors and to be involved in more accidents. As such, they tend to pay more for insurance.
Regardless, after a speeding ticket, your rate will likely increase no matter your age or gender. Based on Bankrate’s research, the average rate increase following a speeding ticket in VA is about 21 percent.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percent increase|
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Virginia
Virginia state law has clear penalties for drivers with moving violations on their licenses. Although infractions may increase your insurance rates, there are still ways to potentially lower your car insurance costs. Here are a couple of tactics to obtain affordable rates for the coverage you need, even with marks on your driving history.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
One strategy is simply to shop around. Ask for quotes from a range of insurers to see which one offers you the lowest premium. Quotes are free, and many companies make it quick and simple to get a quote by answering a few questions online. Here are the average rates for several Virginia car insurance carriers before and after a speeding ticket to give you a point of comparison:
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percent increase|
|Virginia Farm Bureau||$984||$1,122||14%|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
Look for discounts
When comparison shopping, another way to save money is to ask about available discounts. Even if you decide to stay with your current provider, it can be a good idea to review current discounts once a year since you may qualify for new ones based on your ongoing loyalty to the company or changing life circumstances. Here are some of the more common discounts available to Virginia drivers:
- Bundling: Almost all insurers offer a discount if you purchase more than one policy from them. Most commonly, this will mean having your home or renters insurance covered by the same insurer as your car insurance.
- Defensive driving course: Some insurance companies will give you a discount if you take an approved defensive driving course. You could end up saving between 5 and 20 percent on your premium depending on the insurer and regulations in your state.
- Telematics: Increasingly, insurers are offering optional telematics programs to assess your driving in real-time. By downloading an app onto your smartphone, safe drivers could be rewarded with a discount as high as 40 percent.
- Multi-car: Families with more than one car may save money by having them all insured by a single company. This also makes it easier to manage your insurance, because you are likely to pay a single premium for all vehicles.
Frequently asked questions
To find the best car insurance company for you, compare quotes from at least three insurers that offer coverage in your area. Not all auto insurers will cover high-risk drivers, though, so eligibility may also play a role in which company is best for you. Discount opportunities are worth considering, as well, and can vary by carrier. Insurance experts recommend speaking with an agent to learn about discounts for which you may qualify.
Technically, you do not have to tell your insurer about your speeding ticket. The company will likely find out, however, during the renewal process, and you may see an increase in your premium at that point. If you are uncertain about the steps to take after a moving violation, a call to your insurance agent can answer your questions and ensure that you are adhering to your policy’s requirements.
There is no single company that is the cheapest for everyone. Your premium is determined based on a range of factors that are unique to you and your vehicle. Since these vary from person to person, so do rates. Having said that, there are some companies that consistently offer low average rates, per Bankrate’s research, and it may benefit you to start your search for cheap car insurance by getting quotes from them.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.