The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
According to the 2021 Crash Facts and Statistics report from the Illinois Department of Transportation, speeding crashes accounted for 44.4 percent of fatal car crashes. While going just a few miles over the limit might not seem like a big deal, the state of Illinois may impose steep fines for speeding violations in an effort to encourage safe driving. Moving violations can also cause your car insurance rate to remain elevated for years. Bankrate’s insurance editorial team has assembled what you need to know about how an Illinois speeding ticket can impact your car insurance rates and how to combat rising insurance premiums.
How much is a speeding ticket in Illinois?
The cost of a speeding ticket in Illinois largely depends on the circumstances. If pulled over and cited for speeding, drivers must sign the citation as a promise to appear in court and pay the fine. The following chart illustrates what drivers may expect to pay based on their speed above posted limits:
|Miles per hour over the legal limit||Fine or penalty|
|1 – 25 mph||Petty offense; average fine is $164 to $1,000|
|26 – 34 mph||Class B misdemeanor; up to six months jail time and maximum $1,500 in fines|
|35 mph||Class A misdemeanor; up to one year jail time and maximum $2,500 in fines|
Speeding ticket costs in Illinois can also vary depending on where the offense occurred. For example, a driver caught speeding in a school zone will receive a minimum $150 fine for the first offense and $300 for every subsequent offense. Construction zone violations carry a minimum fine of $250 for the first offense and $750 for each subsequent offense. In some cases, a driver may even have their license suspended in Illinois if they are considered to be driving recklessly or street racing.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Illinois?
It is not uncommon for a driver’s insurance premium to see a sharp increase after they’ve received a speeding ticket in Illinois. Along with the speeding violation, insurers will take into account gender and age to determine the exact premium increase drivers with a speeding ticket in Illinois will receive at the time of policy renewal. This is because drivers of certain genders and age groups are perceived as higher risk than others.
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety’s 2021 Fatality Facts report, male drivers ages 16 to 19 are nearly three times more likely to die in a motor vehicle accident than female drivers in the same age group. For this reason, premiums for young male drivers caught speeding are typically higher than those for male drivers ages 40 and older and higher than female drivers overall.
Average annual full coverage premium
|Age||Before speeding ticket||After speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums
The good news is that even if drivers have a speeding ticket on their record, there are steps they can take to reduce rates and regain good standing with a car insurance company.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Illinois
While the financial impact of an Illinois speeding ticket can be initially shocking, there are several ways that drivers can lower car insurance rates after receiving a speeding ticket. By researching providers, taking advantage of available discounts and considering coverage adjustments, drivers with a speeding ticket may be able to bring down the total cost of their premium to a more affordable level.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
One of the best things drivers can do after receiving a speeding ticket is to begin researching rates from other providers in the region. Their existing carrier may not be the most affordable option. The table below illustrates how much the most popular carriers in Illinois typically charge policyholders after they receive a speeding ticket:
Average annual full coverage premium by company
|Car insurance company||Before speeding ticket||After speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
In addition to the total cost of your auto insurance policy, there may be additional advantages to seeking out an alternate provider. For instance, another provider may have better coverage options, available discounts or more favorable customer service reviews than your existing carrier. Be sure to weigh your options carefully before making a final decision.
Take advantage of available discounts
Just because you have a speeding ticket on your record doesn’t mean you’re ineligible to take advantage of available discounts through your insurance carrier. Many insurance providers offer a broad range of discounts that aren’t based on your driving record, including:
- Membership discounts: If you belong to certain groups or organizations or work for a certain employer, you may be eligible for a discount through your provider. For instance, if you are in the military, Geico offers up to 15% off some types of car insurance coverage.
- Driver’s education discounts: To demonstrate to your insurance carrier that you are making improvements to your driving behaviors, you may be able to take a qualifying driver’s education course to receive a discount on your policy.
- Good student discounts: High school and college-aged students who are able to maintain a good academic record may be eligible for car insurance savings, depending on the provider.
- Vehicle equipment discounts: If your car has certain safety systems installed, such as anti-theft alarms or anti-lock brakes, you may be able to save money on your insurance premiums.
There are many different types of discounts available, so be sure to review all the opportunities each insurer has to offer to determine which one can provide you with the most savings.
Consider your car insurance coverage limits
Each state has different levels of minimum coverage car insurance coverage requirements, and Illinois is no different. Illinois drivers are required to hold at least the following minimum coverage:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $20,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
While you may benefit in the short term with lower premiums by having only minimum coverage, this can be far more expensive in the long run, as an accident can quickly exceed minimum coverage limits or leave you on the hook for costly vehicle repairs. Most insurance experts recommend having higher levels of liability coverage, as well as including comprehensive and collision coverage to help mitigate the financial impact of an accident.
Other speeding ticket considerations
Increases to insurance premiums are just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to speeding violations in Illinois. Speeding is considered a serious offense in the state and can even be classified as a misdemeanor depending on the circumstances. In addition to rate increases, fines and possible jail time, drivers may have their licenses suspended or revoked. They may be required to attend a court hearing, too.
A speeding violation could also be upgraded to a “reckless driving” conviction depending on the circumstances surrounding the incident. If the driver happens to kill another driver while speeding, they may face reckless homicide charges. This is a class 3 felony and could result in two to five years in prison, along with up to $25,000 in fines.
Frequently asked questions
The best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets largely depends on your age, gender, location, budget, coverage needs and available discounts. In order to make the most informed decision, it is recommended that you conduct thorough research to compare rates, customer service reviews, coverage options and discounts across each provider.
If the type of speeding ticket — like speeding through a school zone — is outside of the company’s underwriting guidelines, or if you have exceeded the number of moving violations allowed within a certain time frame, your provider may make the decision to deny coverage by nonrenewing your policy.
Once the driving activity is discovered, your policy will probably be surcharged starting the next renewal term. Aside from non-payment, canceling a policy midterm is rare and reserved for extreme cases, such as fraud. Not all insurance companies use the same rating criteria, though. In most circumstances, policyholders can find coverage with either a standard or non-standard auto company.
The easiest thing to do after receiving a speeding ticket in Illinois is to plead guilty, pay the fine and either receive the conviction or attend traffic safety school to avoid conviction. If you feel that the ticket is unwarranted, you can plead not guilty and request a court date to fight the conviction or negotiate the fine in court.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.