The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Driving without car insurance in Louisiana could result in some serious financial penalties. If you’re stopped by police and aren’t able to show proof of insurance or if you’re involved in an accident, you could face risk license suspension and a financial hit. Learn Louisiana’s requirements for car insurance so you can make sure you have the best car insurance for your needs.
Louisiana car insurance laws
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage for costs incurred by a single person in the other car in an accident when you are at fault.
- $30,000 of total bodily injury coverage for the costs incurred by multiple people in the other car in an accident when you are at fault.
- $25,000 of property damage coverage to pay for damage to the other driver’s car or objects such as light posts or mailboxes when you are at fault.
While this is the minimum amount of coverage drivers in Louisiana are required to have, obtaining more coverage, like higher liability limits or adding optional coverage, could provide even better financial protection in the event of an accident.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana
If you do not have a policy with coverage that at least meets the minimums required in Louisiana, you could face several consequences, as outlined by Louisiana law.
First, you will be required to pay a fine of anywhere between $500-$1,000. You may also face a fine if you have insurance but are not carrying proof of it with you when driving.
Driving privileges revoked
In addition to the fine, you may have your driving privileges revoked. Your vehicle may be impounded and license plates canceled. If you are in an accident without insurance, your license will be suspended and registration revoked for 180 days. You may even lose your driving privileges for 12-18 months if you claim falsely that you have insurance. You will also have to pay fees to have your license reinstated, and, if necessary, storage fees for your impounded vehicle.
No pay, no play law
If you are in an accident that is not your fault, you may also be in financial trouble, due to a law known as the “No Pay, No Play” law. This law states that uninsured drivers cannot collect the first $25,000 of property damages and $15,000 of personal injury damages regardless of who caused the accident. Those costs would have to come from your pocket, even if you were the victim of another driver’s poor choices.
Fees from Louisiana’s online insurance verification system
Louisiana instituted an online insurance verification system in 2016 to handle the problem of uninsured drivers, who make up an estimated 11.7% of the state’s drivers. This system allows police officers to check on a driver’s policy status from their vehicle while at a traffic stop.
|Reason for fee||Fee amount|
|Failure to provide proof of insurance within three days||$500-$1,000|
|Lapsed insurance for 11-30 days||$125|
|Lapsed insurance for 31-90 days||$275|
|Lapsed insurance for more than 90 days||$525|
|Reinstatement fees||Up to $850|
|Storage and/or wrecking fees for an impounded vehicle||varies|
Getting into an accident without insurance in Louisiana
In Louisiana, driving without insurance in an accident can leave you in a financial bind. If you are at fault in the accident, you will be legally required to pay all the costs incurred by the other driver, whether this includes medical expenses, a totaled car or damage to a stationary object. This is in addition to any of your own expenses from the accident.
If you’re not at fault in an accident and are driving uninsured, Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” law means you’ll still face financial consequences. The other driver’s auto insurance cannot be applied to the first $15,000 of your personal injury costs and the first $25,000 of property damage costs. These amounts will need to be paid out of your own pocket before the other driver’s car insurance covers the rest (up to its policy limits).
Even if you do not have a lot of money to spare, you can potentially save a great deal by purchasing a minimum coverage policy in Louisiana to avoid paying the fines that come from not having it. Even worse, if you have an accident, you will be covered up to the limits of your policy and thus may avoid financial hardships that could come your way without the coverage.
If you are involved in a serious accident, with injuries requiring surgery, lengthy hospital stays and extensive rehabilitation, you could find yourself in a serious situation that might result in bankruptcy or other financial hardship. Although Louisiana car insurance is not inexpensive, it could be less of a strain than the penalties you risk from driving without coverage. This could include the state department of motor vehicle requiring you to maintain an active car insurance policy and finding an insurance company willing to file an SR-22 on your behalf.
Frequently asked questions
Providing false insurance information is never a good idea. You will be fined and may have to pay significant fees and find your vehicle impounded. If you drive without insurance, you may think you are saving money in the short term, but in the long term, it could cost you hundreds of dollars as well as the use of your car and license.
Louisiana is one of the most expensive states for car insurance, based on Bankrate’s study of average car insurance rates throughout the nation. Louisiana drivers pay an average of $807 per year for minimum coverage and $2,864 per year for full coverage, which includes optional collision and comprehensive coverage for your vehicle.
It’s important to keep in mind that your actual rate will likely vary based on your personal factors. You can take advantage of discounts and compare car insurance quotes from different companies to find the best coverage with a premium within your budget.
The best car insurance company for you may not be the same as the one that’s best for your neighbor. There are multiple factors that go into your premium and your policy, ranging from your age and credit rating to the type and age of the car you drive. Your best bet is to gather multiple quotes and see which one is best for you.
There are multiple penalties, starting with a fee of $500-$1,000 if you fail to provide proof of your insurance when stopped or within three days after. You may also receive a ticket for not having insurance, have your car impounded, your license revoked, and face additional fees for lapsed coverage.