Drivers in Nebraska are required to have a minimum amount of car insurance, which protects your legal and financial responsibilities if you cause an accident. Whether you currently live in Nebraska or are planning an upcoming move, it is important to understand the state’s unique insurance laws.
Driving without car insurance in Nebraska is illegal and you will face serious consequences if you get caught. In addition, driving uninsured puts you at risk in the event of an at-fault crash. Here are some statistics to know about drivers and accidents in Nebraska:
- About 9.3% of drivers in Nebraska do not have car insurance.
- In 2019, there were 36,706 accidents across Nebraska.
- Just under 10% of all accidents in 2019 left at least one driver with a visible injury.
Car insurance laws in Nebraska
Nebraska car insurance laws require drivers to carry at least 25/50/25 personal liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM/UM) coverage. Here are the minimum coverage limits that are required with Nebraska minimum car insurance:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability/UIM/UM coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability/UIM/UM coverage per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
Liability coverage takes effect when you cause an accident. Bodily injury insurance pays for the other driver’s medical bills if they get injured and property damage insurance covers their vehicle’s repairs if there is damage. UIM/UM coverage helps cover your losses if you get hit by a driver who is uninsured or does not have enough coverage to pay for your losses in full.
Liability insurance in Nebraska
To meet the Nebraska auto insurance requirements, drivers must carry personal liability and UIM/UM coverage. Drivers also have the option to purchase more coverage if necessary. However, a minimum coverage policy in Nebraska may not offer enough coverage in the event of an at-fault collision.
If you hit another driver and your policy’s coverage limits do not cover the other driver’s losses, it is possible that you would have to pay the difference out-of-pocket. Insurance companies recommend that most drivers purchase more coverage than what is required for added protection, especially because a minimum coverage policy does not cover your own vehicle.
Two of the most beneficial optional coverages are collision and comprehensive insurance. Collision insurance will pay for your vehicle’s repairs after a covered accident, and comprehensive insurance will cover the damages after a non-collision incident, like theft, vandalism or fire.
Is Nebraska a no-fault state?
Nebraska is not a no-fault state. It is a fault state, also known as a tort state. That means when you get into an accident, the at-fault driver’s insurance will compensate the other driver for their losses. In a no-fault state, drivers are required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and in the event of an accident, each driver’s insurance company automatically pays for their medical expenses and related costs, no matter who was responsible.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Nebraska
If you get caught driving without insurance in Nebraska, you will face penalties. For any offense, you will receive a citation and have 10 days to provide updated proof of coverage. You will also lose your driver’s license and will be required to pay a $50 reinstatement fee. Drivers who receive an insurance violation will also be required to carry SR-22 insurance for three years from the date of the conviction.
Additional auto insurance coverage options in Nebraska
As long as you meet the Nebraska insurance laws, you can legally drive. But in addition to a minimum coverage policy, there are a variety of other coverages that can be beneficial. Here are some of the endorsements that are offered by most car insurance companies in Nebraska:
- Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance is an endorsement that covers the cost of basic vehicle repairs, such as extrication, towing, fuel delivery, flat tire changes, battery replacement and more.
- Gap insurance: If you lease or finance your car, gap insurance will help repay your loan if your car gets totaled.
- Rental car reimbursement coverage: This policy will reimburse you for the cost of a rental car if your vehicle gets damaged in a covered loss and needs to be repaired.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company in Nebraska?
There are lots of great car insurance companies in Nebraska. Bankrate found that, according to our criteria, some of the best ones are Allstate, Auto-Owners and Progressive. However, it is a good idea to shop around and compare insurance companies using your personal criteria for what makes a good insurance company, such as low prices or good discounts.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Nebraska?
If you are looking for low-cost coverage, look for cheap car insurance companies in Nebraska. Some of the affordable providers we recommend are State Farm, Progressive and Farmers. But keep in mind that car insurance rates are personalized, so make sure to get quotes from several companies and compare them to see which provider can offer the lowest price for you.
How much is car insurance in Nebraska?
The average cost of car insurance in Nebraska is $1,531 per year for full coverage. The average rate in Nebraska is slightly lower than the United States national average rate, which is $1,674 per year for full coverage.
What information do I need to get a car insurance quote?
To get a car insurance quote, you will be asked to provide some basic personal information, like your name and address. You will also need to provide information about your car, including the make, model and year, the VIN number, the mileage and how many miles you drive per year. You may also be asked to provide your social security number, which helps the insurance company provide the most accurate rate quote.