Kansas car insurance laws

1
Cavan Images/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Car insurance is a legal requirement in Kansas if you own a registered vehicle. The main purpose of auto insurance is to protect your legal and financial responsibilities in the event of an at-fault collision. Here are some things to know about accidents in Kansas:

  • In 2019, there were 64,682 traffic accidents in Kansas.
  • There were 2,150 crashes involving alcohol in 2019.
  • Most accidents in Kansas are caused by general driver inattention.

Every state has different car insurance laws, so it is important to understand the specific laws where you live. Kansas car insurance laws are pretty straightforward, but you could face a number of serious penalties if you get caught driving without proper insurance coverage.

Car insurance laws in Kansas

In Kansas, drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance in order to legally drive. However, you have the option to purchase more coverage if needed. Kansas minimum car insurance is abbreviated as 25/50/25 and includes personal liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. The coverage limits include:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage/UM/UIM coverage per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage/UM/UIM coverage per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident

Liability insurance in Kansas

Liability insurance is one of the Kansas auto insurance requirements. If you cause an accident, bodily injury liability insurance pays for the other driver’s medical expenses, and property damage liability coverage pays for their vehicle repairs. UM/UIM coverage will pay for the losses after an accident if you get hit by a driver who does not have insurance, or does not have enough insurance to cover the damages in full.

Although liability insurance is required in Kansas, drivers should consider raising their coverage limits or purchasing additional policies for more protection. There is no guarantee that a minimum coverage policy will cover the full cost of an accident, which could leave you financially responsible for a portion of the losses.

In addition, liability insurance will not provide any coverage for your vehicle after an accident. Insurance companies recommend that most drivers purchase collision and comprehensive insurance, which help cover the cost of your car’s repairs after an accident. Comprehensive insurance specifically also covers car theft.

Is Kansas a no-fault state?

Kansas is considered a no-fault state. That means after an accident, each driver’s insurance company will pay for their own medical expenses, regardless of which driver caused the collision. In a fault state, the at-fault driver’s insurance company is responsible for reimbursing the other driver for their medical costs and related expense, like lost wages

Kansas insurance laws state that drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP) to satisfy the state’s no-fault provision. The minimum coverage amounts for PIP in Kansas include:

  • $4,500 per person for medical expenses
  • $900 per month for loss of income (maximum of one year)
  • $25 per day for in-home healthcare services (maximum of one year)
  • $2,000 for funeral or burial expenses
  • $4,500 for rehabilitation services

Penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas

Driving uninsured in Kansas is illegal and it comes with steep consequences. For a first offense, drivers will pay a fine between $300 – $1,000. For a second offense committed within three years, the fine increases to $800 – $2,500. Depending on the circumstances, drivers may also face up to six months in jail.

Other penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas include license suspension. In order to get your driving privileges reinstated, you may be required to purchase SR-22 insurance, which can cause your car insurance premium to increase significantly for several years.

Additional auto insurance coverage options in Kansas

Liability insurance, UM/UIM and PIP are the coverages required to satisfy Kansas insurance laws. However, there are a number of additional coverage options that Kansas drivers may want to consider purchasing for a higher amount of protection. Here are some of the most common ones:

  • Roadside assistance — Roadside assistance covers the cost of basic vehicle repairs, like a new battery, flat tire repair, fuel delivery, towing up to a certain distance and extrication if your vehicle gets stuck in snow or mud.
  • Accident forgiveness — Accident forgiveness is an endorsement that will keep your insurance rate from increasing after your first accident. Some insurance companies only waive the first accident if the losses are under a certain amount.
  • Gap insurance — Drivers who lease or finance their vehicle should consider gap insurance. If your car gets totaled, gap insurance will help pay the difference between the remaining loan balance and the car’s diminished value.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best car insurance company in Kansas?

The best car insurance company in Kansas is different for every driver. It depends on factors like your budget, what type of coverage you need, what discounts you qualify for and the amount of coverage you need. Some of the top auto insurance companies in the state are State Farm, Shelter and Nationwide.

What is the cheapest car insurance in Kansas?

There are a number of cheap car insurance companies in Kansas. Some of the most affordable providers we recommend are USAA, Farmers and American Family. However, keep in mind that the cheapest car insurance company varies based on personal factors.

How much does car insurance cost in Kansas?

The average cost of car insurance in Kansas is $1,698 per year for a full coverage policy and $142 per year for a minimum coverage policy. Keep in mind that car insurance rates are individualized, so you might pay more or less than the statewide average depending on your ZIP code, age, credit score, claim history and driving record.

Written by
Elizabeth Rivelli
Insurance Contributor
Elizabeth has two years of experience writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate.com, The Simple Dollar, Coverage.com and NextAdvisor, among others. In addition to auto insurance, Elizabeth regularly writes about home insurance, renters insurance and life insurance. She also covers industry trends and general insurance education.
Edited by
Insurance Editor