The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Before you start searching for cheap SR-22 insurance in Georgia, you should know that SR-22 insurance doesn’t actually exist. An SR-22 is an order by a court or the state of Georgia to send proof of insurance to the Department of Driver Services (DDS). SR-22s aren’t unique. There are many others like it across Georgia and the U.S. Knowing what SR-22 insurance is for and how to get one will make the process much easier.
What is “SR-22 Insurance?”
An SR-22 is proof of insurance. It is often required after a driving offense, such as driving without insurance or having too many at-fault accidents.
In Georgia, an SR-22 can either be demanded by a court or the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
To obtain an SR-22 in Georgia, you must first find an insurance company willing to work with drivers requiring an SR-22. Unfortunately, providers are free to deny anyone a policy as long as their reason doesn’t conflict with state law. The most common reason policies are denied is a driver’s record. If your driving record has numerous incidents on it, a provider may or may not choose to insure you. However, the best national providers, such as Geico or Progressive, are able to insure drivers in need of an SR-22.
SR-22 Georgia alternatives
If an SR-22 is ordered by a court or the state of Georgia, there aren’t alternatives to what you need. If you wish to keep your license and continue driving, you will need to ask your insurance company to send an SR-22 to the DDS as soon as possible. If you don’t have insurance, you will need to find an insurance company willing to insure drivers in need of an SR-22. These are the only options.
Confusion revolves around SR-22s because there are other similar requirements both within the state of Georgia and across the nation. The differences between the various forms are often subtle. Which one you are ordered to have depends on both previous and recent convictions.
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||All states except: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma||Standard liability; click here for a full list of each state’s minimum insurance requirements.|
|SR-19||California, Texas||Standard liability|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia, Indiana||Standard liability|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas, Missouri||Standard liability, but 6 months of insurance must be prepaid.|
|FR-44||Florida, Virginia||Double liability|
- SR-19: There are two variations of SR-19, depending on which state you’re in. An SR-19 in Texas is a payment agreement between an at-fault driver without insurance and the injured party. An SR-19 is filed in California by the injured party after an accident. It’s verification that the other driver was not properly insured. It must be submitted before any payout can be received.
- SR-21: Some states require an SR-21 to verify that you had insurance before an accident, and is usually requested after a crash that leads to either bodily injury, death, or property damage exceeding $1,000. Insurance providers digitally deliver SR-21s upon request.
- SR-22A: SR-22As are required after repeat DWI offenses (driving without insurance). Upon conviction, a court will order the driver to prepay up to 6 months for minimum liability for three years. Like an SR-22 it guarantees future coverage, but it is stricter because monthly payments are not an option until three years have elapsed.
- FR-44: An FR-44 is also similar to an SR-22 because it, too, proves financial responsibility (hence the ‘FR’). FR-44s are usually required after a DWI or DUI accident where someone is injured. When this is the case, drivers are often ordered to purchase double the state’s minimum liability requirements.
- SR-50: SR-50s are like SR-22s in that they verify a driver is carrying the mandated minimum liability requirements set forth by the state. Indiana requests SR-50s when a driver has had two moving violations within the same year, an accident report has been filed or driver has a moving violation after a recorded DWI.
If Georgia deems you a high risk driver but you don’t own a vehicle, you can still file an SR-22 by getting non-owner insurance. Many companies offer non-owner car insurance, so rate shopping shouldn’t be too difficult. Just make sure that whatever company you choose will also file an SR-22 on your behalf to the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
Non-owner insurance is necessary if you frequently rent vehicles or borrow someone else’s car. It may also be necessary if you want to keep your license but have no plans of driving in the near future after a severe traffic violation conviction (such as a DUI).
SR-22A in Georgia
An SR-22 provides proof of financial responsibility and shows that the driver either meets or exceeds Georgia’s minimum insurance requirements. Currently, basic liability in Georgia means each driver must have, at minimum, a 25/50/25 policy. According to the latest study by the Insurance Information Institute, the average yearly cost Georgia drivers pay is $735.15. Monthly, this equates to $61.26.
An SR-22A is also a form demanded by either a court or the state of Georgia. It, too, is not insurance but rather proof of insurance. With an SR-22, the driver can satisfy any obligations by making monthly payments. However, with an SR-22A, drivers must pay for insurance six months in advance, and they must do so for three years. This means an average driver without too many reports on his or her file will pay around $367.58 every six months (click here to see the average cost of car insurance).
SR-22As are required after a driver has been caught driving without insurance multiple times or after an unsatisfied judgment. Like a regular SR-22, an SR-22A does not have any alternatives if the state or a court has ordered you to have one on file with the DDS.
SR-22 Georgia insurance costs
Depending on which company you have, Insurance companies charge a one-time fee of $15-35. However, the true cost of an SR-22 boils down to the citation that prompted Georgia or a court to require you to have one.
Offenses such as DUIs or multiple at-fault accidents are going to make your premium jump up in price. However, whatever the reason, insurance companies are going to deem you a higher risk than other drivers simply for needing an SR-22. Even if you’re a perfect driver, and your only offense was driving without insurance, insurance companies are going to charge you a higher premium because of your past behavior.
How long do I need an SR-22 in Georgia?
Georgia state law requires SR-22s to remain in effect for three years (this also applies to SR-22As). If you continue to have driving offenses, it’s possible a judge may order the SR-22 ‘clock’ to be reset— meaning you’ll need to start the three year cycle over again.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Georgia?
Georgia sr22 insurance doesn’t exist because an SR-22 is not insurance. It is a form sent by an insurance company stating that you are complying with state law. If you already have insurance, you simply need to ask your provider to send the form digitally to the DDS. If you don’t have insurance, you will need to find a provider willing to insure drivers with an SR-22 mandate.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Georgia?
It depends on your insurance company. Companies charge, on average, between $15 and $35 to send an SR-22 on your behalf. Keep in mind that the cost of your premium may increase significantly depending on the reason behind the SR-22 requirement.
What happens if my insurance company cancels my policy?
If your SR22 insurance in Georgia is canceled, Georgia DDS will cancel your driver’s license if you are unable to find another provider willing to insure you.
What form do I need if my license has been suspended for not having insurance?
You will need an SR-22A— meaning you will have to pay 6 months in advance.
Georgia DDS also accepts an SR-22 form if the provider states that you paid your premium in full.