Auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Arkansas

1
Cultura RM Exclusive/Matelly/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

If you are considered a high-risk driver in Arkansas, finding affordable insurance can be difficult. Although each insurance company will quote differently for different factors, most insurance companies will increase annual car insurance premiums for high-risk drivers. A high-risk driver is someone who has received a speeding ticket or multiple speeding tickets, been involved in an accident, or has received a DUI. In Arkansas, there were about 2,300 car accidents statewide.

Rates for high-risk car insurance in Arkansas

Each insurance company provides different rates based on its unique application process. In the U.S., the average cost of full coverage car insurance is $1,674 annually, but this varies depending on location and each driver’s personal factors. Additionally, rates vary by driver-specific factors. For example, car insurance companies often consider age, driving history, vehicle make and model, credit score and gender to evaluate the risk in insuring someone. Factors that are considered high-risk usually include any record of accidents, speeding tickets and DUIs, and are likely to raise your premium with Arkansas car insurance companies.

Rates after a speeding ticket

In Arkansas, drivers who receive a speeding ticket typically see increased car insurance rates. The average increase drivers see after a speeding ticket could be anywhere from 2% to 54%, depending on the car insurance provider.

In addition to facing higher insurance premiums, drivers may have to face other penalties for speeding. In the state of Arkansas, you can face up to $100 in fines and up to 10 days in jail if you receive a first offense for speeding less than 15 miles per hour over the limit. For a second offense that occurs within a year, you could end up paying fines up to $200 and spen up to 20 days in jail. Lastly, for a third or subsequent offense within a year, fines can reach up to $500 and drivers could face up to six months in jail.

The chart below shows the average annual premium for full coverage before and after a speeding ticket and the percent increase.

Car insurance company Arkansas average annual premium for full coverage before a speeding ticket Arkansas average annual premium for full coverage after a speeding ticket % increase
Farmers $1,150 $1,471 28%
Shelter $1,862 $2,535 36%
Cameron Mutual $1,720 $1,827 6%
USAA $1,142 $1,342 17%
Progressive $1,492 $2,292 54%
Alfa $2,044 $2,750 35%
AAA $1,454 $2,181 50%
State Farm $1,281 $1,301 2%
The Hanover $4,183 $5,952 42%

Rates after an accident

Getting into an accident in Arkansas is another incident that may qualify for high-risk auto insurance rates. The average percentage of increase drivers see after an accident in Arkansas may range from 11% to upwards of 100%. However, the premium increase varies depending on the Arkansas provider.

In addition to facing higher insurance premiums, there are other penalties drivers may face after an accident. After an at-fault accident, Arkansas drivers will usually have at least three points added to their license. Depending on your coverage, you may have to pay out of pocket for expenses related to the accident.

Overall, getting into an accident can be time-consuming and costly to resolve, with medical payments and vehicle damage expenses. The chart below shows the average annual premium for full coverage before and after a car accident and the average percentage increase by provider.

Car insurance company Arkansas average annual premium for full coverage before an accident Arkansas average annual premium for full coverage after an accident % increase
Farmers $1,150 $1,568 36%
Shelter $1,862 $2,857 53%
Cameron Mutual $1,720 $1,970 15%
USAA $1,142 $1,652 45%
Progressive $1,492 $3,002 101%
Alfa $2,044 $3,150 54%
AAA $1,454 $2,310 59%
State Farm $1,281 $1,418 11%
The Hanover $4,183 $5,911 41%

Rates after a DWI

If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), most insurers will categorize you as high-risk. DWIs are considered either a felony or misdemeanor under the state of Arkansas’s laws. Whether it is a felony, which is a more serious offense than a misdemeanor, is dependent upon how often the offense is committed within a five-year span.

There are several other possible penalties for receiving a DUI or DWI in Arkansas. The penalties for a DUI on a first offense may include a fine from $100 to $500, community service and up to 90 days of license suspension. For a second offense, the penalties for a DUI may include $200 to $1,000 in fines, a minimum of 30 days of community service and up to one year of license suspension. Subsequent offenses may face up to $2,000 in fines, 60 days of community service and up to three years of license revocation.

Lastly, some states may require you to carry an SR-22 or FR-44 after a DUI or DWI conviction.

The average annual premium for full coverage after a DWI is usually steeper than other traffic violations and could increase from 26% to 91%, depending on the car insurance provider.

Car insurance company Arkansas average annual premium for full coverage before a DUI Arkansas average annual premium for full coverage after a DUI % increase
Farmers $1,150 $1,516 32%
Shelter $1,862 $2,788 50%
Cameron Mutual $1,720 $2,257 31%
USAA $1,142 $2,188 91%
Progressive $1,492 $1,998 34%
Alfa $2,044 $2,867 40%
AAA $1,454 $2,233 54%
State Farm $1,281 $1,615 26%
The Hanover $4,183 $6,321 51%

Rate for teen drivers

Adding a teen driver typically increases car insurance rates in Arkansas. Teen drivers are seen as a higher risk than those who have more experience in driving. Due to lack of experience, it is more likely for a teen driver to speed or get involved in an accident.

As shown in the data below, the average annual premium for full coverage based on a 16 year old added to a parent’s policy could cause premiums to increase to $4,721. However, a teen driver may generate less of a spike with other providers. Although younger drivers are seen as a higher risk to car insurance companies due to their lack of experience, this may change over time as driving and license laws change.

Car insurance company Average annual premium for full coverage
Farmers $1,826
Shelter $2,204
Cameron Mutual $1,725
USAA $1,802
Sentry $2,535
Progressive $2,054
Alfa $2,607
AAA $2,508
State Farm $1,839
The Hanover $4,721

*16 year old on their parent’s policy

Who is a high-risk driver?

For rate comparison purposes, Bankrate defines high-risk drivers as those issued a speeding ticket, involved in an accident, convicted of a DUI or had a lapse in coverage.

The general industry definition of a high-risk driver is anyone who is more likely to file an insurance claim on their car insurance policy. Driving and claims history, for example, may be used to evaluate whether a driver is more likely to file an insurance claim based on prior incidents. Additionally, a driver who has poor credit and a history of car accidents or speeding tickets is more likely to signal to insurers that more claims will be made than by an average driver.

How to lower your rate if you are a high-risk driver

Although being considered a high-risk driver could raise an insurers’ risk awareness and driver premiums, the good news is that there are multiple ways to lower rates. A few tips on how to lower your rates include:

  • Search for discounts, like good student, safety features and vehicle ownership.
  • Take a defensive driving course.
  • Maintain good grades.
  • Bundle policies such as car, renters and home.
  • Compare multiple quotes.
  • Maintain a good credit score.
  • Look into low mileage discounts.
  • Consider a higher deductible.

Frequently asked questions

Can you get car insurance if you get a DUI in Arkansas?

Drivers who get a DUI in Arkansas may be considered high-risk and will likely face other penalties. Some car insurance companies may deny coverage depending on the number of offenses and whether any other traffic laws were violated while driving. However, many car insurance companies in Arkansas will still offer coverage, but at higher rates on average.

What car insurance companies offer the cheapest rates for high-risk drivers in Arkansas?

Each car insurance company evaluates risk differently. The different types of car insurance risk include being involved in speeding, an accident, a DUI or DWI, and insuring a teen. The cheapest car insurance for drivers with a speeding ticket, for example, may be ones with lower standard rates on average so that increases are not as severe, but it depends on various factors related to each driver and car insurance applicant.

Can you still apply discounts after being a high-risk driver?

Yes, many insurance experts recommend that drivers facing high-risk car insurance rates apply available discounts to reduce premiums. Other ways to reduce rates could involve considering a higher deductible, enrolling in auto-pay or taking a defensive driving course.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually. These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

High-risk drivers
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Grace Kim
Insurance Contributor
Grace Kim has two years of experience in writing for finance and insurance domains such as The Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Jersey at Bankrate and Reviews.com. She has written about auto, homeowners, renters and life insurance. She holds an M.Sc from New York University in Corporate Communications and has spent most of her professional experience writing about finance and tech topics.
Edited by
Insurance Editor