Skip to Main Content

State taxes: Nebraska

Close up of tax forms with eyeglasses and pen  © Mr Doomits /

At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here’s an explanation for

Nebraska’s individual state income tax rates range from 2.46% to 6.84%. Details on Nebraska taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.

Personal income tax

Nebraska collects income taxes from its residents based on 4 income brackets.

For single taxpayers:

  • 2.46% on the first $3,050 of taxable income.
  • 3.51% on taxable income between $3,051 and $18,280.
  • 5.01% on taxable income between $18,281 and $29,460.
  • 6.84% on taxable income of $29,461 and above.

For married taxpayers filing jointly:

  • 2.46% on the first $6,090 of taxable income.
  • 3.51% on taxable income between $6,091 and $36,570.
  • 5.01% on taxable income between $36,571 and $58,920.
  • 6.84% on taxable income of $58,921 and above.

If adjusted gross income is more than $258,250 (single), $309,900 (married, filing jointly and surviving spouse), $154,950 (married, filing separately), or $284,050 (head of household), also use the 2015 Nebraska Additional Tax Rate Schedule to calculate added tax liability.

Nebraska tax returns are due April 15 or the next business day if that date falls on a weekend or holiday.

Sales taxes

Nebraska has a state sales tax of 5.5%.

In addition to the state tax, some Nebraska cities assess a city sales and use tax, up to a maximum of 1.5%.

As of Jan. 1, 2014, there are no longer any counties in Nebraska that impose a sales tax.

Personal and real property taxes

All real property located within the state of Nebraska is taxable unless specifically exempted by statute.

County assessors compute the value of property within their jurisdictions, but are subject to the supervision of the property tax administrator. Each county board of equalization must equalize the valuation of individual tracts, lots or parcels of real property in the county. Personal property is to be valued and taxed on the basis of depreciated cost with reasonable class lives to be determined by the legislature.

Nebraska offers a homestead exemption for property owners. To receive it, taxpayers must submit Form 458, Application or Certification of Status, to their county tax assessor.

Inheritance and estate taxes

Inheritance tax is collected at the county level.

Nebraska’s estate tax was limited and related to federal estate tax collection, but it opted to decouple from the federal law and collected an estate tax on estates of people who died between July 1, 2003, and Dec. 31, 2006. Nebraska lawmakers subsequently repealed the state’s estate tax effective Jan. 1, 2007.

Other Nebraska tax facts

Nebraska offers a beginning farmer credit to help residents get a start in farming and ranching.

Nebraska taxpayers can e-file several personal and business forms.

Nebraska does not levy an intangible personal property tax.

For more information, visit the Nebraska Department of Revenue Service website.

To download tax forms on this site, you will need to install a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here for instructions.