The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
No matter where you live, the biggest factor that influences your insurance premium is your driving history, and there is perhaps nothing worse to have in your driving history than a DUI. DUIs bring an onslaught of penalties (such as jail time and fines), as well as rising insurance costs.
How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?
To an insurance provider, a DUI is a red flag for possible future events. This is for a variety of reasons. The National Highway Traffic Administration did a study and found that one third of all DUI arrests are of repeat offenders. Their study also concluded that a driver convicted of a DUI over four times more likely to die in a fatal car crash than other drivers. Furthermore, ongoing research by Mothers Against Drunk Driving concludes that DUIs are some of the most common causes of car accident deaths.
It is for all of these reasons that insurance providers hike up drivers’ insurance premiums after a DUI conviction. Nationally, most drivers can expect to pay twice as much after a DUI, but in North Carolina it is significantly more. Take a look at the following table:
National vs state average rates with DUI
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in North Carolina?
As the table above showed, the rate increase for a DUI in North Carolina is significant. Though insurance providers take a variety of data points into consideration when pricing a policy, a DUI almost always outweighs them all.
Below are the average prices drivers pay (both pre and post DUIs) with the best major providers in North Carolina. However, what you pay may be significantly more based upon the severity of your DUI and past driving history. It is also possible your provider may cancel your policy instead of increasing your premium.
North Carolina provider rates with DUI for minimum coverage
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||Minimum coverage rate with DUI|
|North Carolina Farm Bureau||$374||$1,414|
North Carolina provider rates with DUI for full coverage
|Provider||Average full coverage rate||Full coverage rate with DUI|
|North Carolina Farm Bureau||$1,107||$4,308|
Other North Carolina DUI Consequences
In most states, the number of DUIs a person has on his or her record determines the penalties that are received. In North Carolina, it is a little different. In North Carolina, a judge looks at a variety of factors (such as BAC levels, amount and age of passengers, and crash data) to determine whether you are a weak offender (level 5) or a serious offender (level 1).
|Level 5 misdemeanor||Up to $200||24 hours to 60 days|
|Level 4 misdemeanor||Up to $500||48 hours to 120 days|
|Level 3 misdemeanor||Up to $1,000||72 hours to 6 months|
|Level 2 misdemeanor||Up to $2,000||7 days to one year|
|Level 1 misdemeanor||Up to $4,000||30 days to two years|
For levels 5, 4, and 3, a judge can suspend the jail time in lieu of community service or impounding your car. This is not an option for levels 2 and 1.
For habitual offenders (drivers who have had three previous DWI convictions in the past 7 years), the DWI is considered a felony. When this occurs, the driver must serve a minimum of one year in jail.
Lastly, drivers who blow a 0.08 BAC will immediately have their license revoked for 30 days, with limited driving available after 10 days. After the driver has been formally convicted, the revocation lasts up to one year. After a second DUI within three years, the revocation lasts for four years.
What form do I need to get my license reinstated in North Carolina after a DUI?
Drivers convicted of a DUI in North Carolina will need a dl123 form to get a limited privilege license.
How long does a DUI stay on your record in North Carolina?
A DUI stays on your record forever in North Carolina; however, for sentencing purposes, there is what is called a “lookback period.” If you receive multiple DUIs within a seven year window, those DUIs will be considered when calculating the severity of your penalties.
How can you get a DUI removed from your record in North Carolina?
There is no way to get a DUI removed from your record if you are convicted. If the DUI is dismissed or you are found not guilty, however, it will be removed from public record.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.