In 2018, there were 25 total alcohol-related traffic fatalities in the state of Rhode Island. If you get caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Rhode Island, you are going to face severe penalties, including a high car insurance rate.
Rhode Island drivers who get convicted of a DUI will see their car insurance rate increase by an average of 83%, which is lower than the national average increase of 99%. After a DWI in Rhode Island, it can be difficult to find a car insurance company to insure you, and it can be even harder to find affordable coverage.
DUI laws in Rhode Island
Rhode Island has strict DUI laws. If you get pulled over for driving with a BAC of .08 or higher, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. For a first DWI offense, you will pay a fine between $100-$300, you will be required to perform 10-60 hours of community service and you may be instructed to complete a drug or alcohol safety course. It is also possible that you could face up to one year in jail.
After a first offense DWI in Rhode Island, your license will likely be suspended for a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 180 days. The sentencing judge will decide whether or not you are required to install an ignition interlock system in your vehicle.
Like in many states, the cost of a DUI in Rhode Island gets more expensive for subsequent offenses. The punishments are also more serious for drivers who have a BAC of .15 or above at the time of their arrest. We should also mention that Rhode Island has a zero tolerance policy, which means drivers under 21 years old will receive the most serious consequences if they get charged with a DUI or DWI.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Rhode Island
Car insurance rates after a DUI in Rhode Island can be extremely expensive. If you get a Rhode Island DUI, be prepared for your car insurance premium to skyrocket. You can expect your car insurance premium to increase by an average of 83% after one DUI conviction. If you get two or more DUIs in Rhode Island, your rate will increase even more.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
The reason car insurance rates increase after getting a DUI is because it suggests that you are a high-risk driver. Getting behind the wheel while intoxicated is very dangerous, and it puts you and other drivers at risk. As a result, your insurance company has the right to increase your rate until you can prove that you are a responsible driver.
After getting a DUI, it is possible that your insurance company could decide not to renew your policy. If you try to find a new insurance company, you may find that some companies will not approve a policy with a DUI on your record. In this case, we recommend looking for auto insurance companies that specialize in non-standard insurance.
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island
Getting a DWI in Rhode Island means that you could lose your car insurance coverage. However, there are ways you may be able to get more affordable insurance. First, find an insurance company that offers competitive rates for drivers with one DUI on their record. The table below includes a few car insurance companies that will insure Rhode Island drivers with a DUI and their average annual premium:
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
Other ways to find affordable auto insurance after a DUI include taking advantage of car insurance discounts, paying your annual premium in full, raising your deductible, signing up for automatic payments, improving your credit score and taking an approved defensive driving course.
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Rhode Island impact my criminal record?
If you get a DUI in Rhode Island, it will show up on your criminal record permanently as a misdemeanor if you only have one offense. The incident will eventually stop impacting your car insurance rate, but it will never disappear entirely from your criminal history.
Do I need SR-22 insurance after a DUI in Rhode Island?
No, Rhode Island is one of the only states that does not require drivers to purchase SR-22 insurance after a DUI conviction. The state eliminated SR-22s in July 2018.
Should I get a lawyer after a DWI in Rhode Island?
The decision to get a lawyer after receiving a DWI is a personal one. You are not required to get a lawyer, but it can be helpful to have an attorney who can navigate the process with you and represent you in court. If you do not hire a private attorney, you will likely have the option to work with a public defender instead.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.