An arrest in Minnesota for drinking and driving is a serious traffic violation with consequences. In addition to increased car insurance rates, drinking and driving can lead to a severe accident or worse. There are about 30 people killed every day in the United States in car accidents involving alcohol – one death every 50 minutes.
Costs arising from a DUI typically will include legal fees and court costs as well as personal cost to you and your family. A DUI may also result in certain stigmas in your community and under certain circumstances, the loss of driving privileges.
How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?
How much one will pay for auto insurance depends on a variety of factors including the driver’s age, the car make and model and the amount of time and purpose for driving. Being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) may cause your rates to climb. As the charts below demonstrate, a DUI conviction in Minnesota can substantially increase insurance rates:
National vs. Minnesota average rates with DUI
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent Increase|
How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Minnesota?
How much your premium increases partly depends on your insurance provider. It will also depend on other characteristics used to determine your premium such as your location and credit score. No matter what, however, premiums generally rise significantly after a DUI.
Minnesota rates with DUI for minimum coverage by provider
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||Minimum coverage rate with DUI|
|Iowa Farm Bureau||$370||$750|
|North Star Mutual||$319||$944|
Minnesota rates with DUI for full coverage by provider
|Provider||Average full coverage rate||Full coverage rate with DUI|
|Iowa Farm Bureau||$1,015||$2,036|
|North Star Mutual||$1,421||$4,518|
Long term consequences of a DUI conviction
Even safe drivers with otherwise clean driving records can find their lives thrown into turmoil by a DUI conviction. The short term consequences from a DUI conviction are well known – increased insurance premiums, license suspension, fines, court-ordered driver education and community service and even a visit to the local jail.
There are longer term consequences of a DUI conviction which often come as a surprise and can impact lives well into the future. Examples include:
- Driver’s license revocation: A DUI conviction in Minnesota may result in a driver’s license being suspended for 90 days or more depending upon measured alcohol levels. Upon a third conviction a driver may have his license cancelled as “inimical to public safety”.
- Background checks: Most employers today conduct criminal background checks during the hiring process. The Minnesota Government Data Practices Act permits background checks provided data protection measures are put in place. A felony or misdemeanor DUI conviction will appear in a background check and may make it more difficult to obtain a job. Landlords sometimes run similar checks as do some college admissions departments.
- Employment: Court appearances, community service and potential jail time may threaten one’s employment.
- Personal and professional relationships: A DUI arrest alone may negatively affect one’s relationships with family, friends, coworkers and employers. Local media often publicizes both arrests and convictions for a DUI.
Minnesota DUI law and legal consequences
Under Minnesota law a driver who is 21 or older is considered to be legally intoxicated when they register a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or greater, a .04 BAC for drivers of commercial vehicles. Depending upon the circumstances, a driver’s behavior may lead to an arrest even though the BAC does not reach these levels.
First time convictions can result in up to 90 days in prison, a $1,000 fine or both. If the driver registers a BAC of .20 or greater or was driving with a child under the age of 16, the driver may be imprisoned for a year and fined $3,000. A second offense within 10 years of the first results in a mandatory 30 days in prison or eight hours of community service for each day that the convicted driver is ordered to serve.
Drivers convicted for a third time within 10 years of prior convictions can be imprisoned for a period up to one year and be fined an amount up to $3,000. Significantly, the driver’s license will be revoked for at least a year. A fourth conviction within the 10 year period may result in imprisonment for three to seven years and a fine up to $14,000. The driver’s license will be revoked for at least two years.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a difference in Minnesota between a DUI and a DWI?
There is a difference between a Minnesota DUI (“Driving Under the Influence”) and a DWI (“Driving While Intoxicated”), and it can be confusing. A charge of DWI is related to the strict BAC levels and means the arrested driver had a BAC over 0.08 and can be convicted even though appearing completely normal.
A DUI conviction, on the other hand, does not require a specific BAC level but can be based solely on the arresting officer’s observations of the pattern of driving and the behavior of the driver.
Can I clean my DUI record and improve my insurance rates?
In 2015, Minnesota introduced a new law which makes it easier to expunge certain criminal records including DUI/DWI convictions. Unfortunately, while an expungement may clear up a criminal record and have a positive impact on background checks, this step may not impact a driving record. Insurance company practices vary but most tend to take convictions into account for three to five years in determining rates.
Are there other ways to reduce my insurance rates after a DUI/DWI conviction?
There are a number of ways to reduce auto insurance rates that may be available with many insurance companies, even after a DUI/DWI conviction. These include options like taking a driver training course, increasing policy deductibles and bundling policies.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.