A DUI in Louisiana may cause your auto insurance premiums to increase by as much as 99% annually, on par with the national average annual percentage increase. To add to the financial burden that a DUI in Louisiana causes, you may find it harder to obtain auto insurance after your conviction.
Carrying auto insurance in Louisiana is a legal requirement, so it is important to understand how to obtain coverage even when your driving record includes a DUI. As you are looking for coverage, it may be beneficial to know which carriers offer the lowest average rates. Bankrate analyzed average premium information from Quadrant Information Services to better understand the impact on insurance rates when you have a DUI or DWI in Louisiana.
DUI laws in Louisiana
Louisiana considers someone with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% to be driving under the influence.
The consequences for a DUI conviction in Louisiana are severe. For your first offense, you face a fine of $300 to $1,000. You could also be jailed for 10 days to six months. Your license may be suspended and you could be ordered to participate in a substance-abuse program. This is in addition to possible court-ordered community service.
Subsequent DUI convictions increase the potential fines, license suspension length and jail time. The specific penalties that you could face after a DUI may depend on the circumstances of your offense. DUIs are serious offenses that caused 252 deaths in Louisiana in 2019.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Louisiana
A DUI in Louisiana is likely to drastically increase your auto insurance premium, on top of Louisiana’s high average cost of car insurance. Without a DUI, the average annual full coverage premium in Louisiana is $2,724. With a DUI, the rate increases 99% and averages $5,425 annually. This is in line with the national average annual increase of 99% after a DUI, although the national average annual full coverage premium is lower to begin with.
In addition to increased premiums, there may be some carriers who will not insure you if you have a DUI on your record. A DUI or DWI indicates to insurance companies that you are a high-risk driver, and there are carriers that choose not to take on the risk.
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Louisiana
If you are searching for car insurance after a DUI in Louisiana, it may be helpful to compare multiple carriers. Not only might this help you know which carriers are willing to offer coverage, but you could also find out which company’s quote best fits your budget.
Bankrate utilized Quadrant Information Services to obtain current premium information for the largest insurance carriers in Louisiana. The average annual premiums after a DUI are listed below. The premiums vary considerably; this illustrates how helpful it can be to get quotes from several companies.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
These premiums are averages. Your rates may be higher or lower, because auto insurance premiums are based on a wide variety of factors, including your age, the type of vehicle you are insuring, your coverage choices and any additional incidents on your driving record.
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Louisiana impact my criminal record?
Driving under the influence is illegal in Louisiana and is considered a criminal offense. In addition to the mark on your criminal record, you will likely face fines and a suspended license. You may also be facing other penalties, like mandatory community service, a substance-abuse program or jail time.
What is the best car insurance company with a DUI in Louisiana?
The best car insurance company will vary from driver to driver, since everyone has different coverage needs and personal rating factors. You may want to start your search with carriers willing to insure high-risk drivers. You could then request quotes and compare factors such as rates, coverage options and customer satisfaction ratings to determine which is best for your circumstances.
What happens if I drive without insurance in Louisiana?
Driving without insurance is illegal in Louisiana. If you are caught driving without insurance, you might face fines and a license suspension. If you cause an accident, you will be responsible for paying for the damages and injuries you cause out of your own pocket. If your license has been suspended after a DUI, you will likely be required to purchase auto insurance to reinstate it. You will probably have to have an SR-22 form on file with Louisiana’s Office of Motor Vehicles. This is a form that your insurance company files to prove that you are carrying the required insurance coverage. Without an insurance company to file this form, you will likely not be able to reinstate your license.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.