Texas is one of only seven states that does not tax individual wage income. The state's constitution restricts passage of a personal income tax. The Lone Star State, however does collect a gross receipts tax from some businesses. More on Texas taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.

Personal income tax
Texas residents pay no personal state income tax.
 The state does, however, impose a variety of other taxes. A list and rates can be found here.
Sales tax
Texas has a 6.25 percent state sales tax.
Local sales and use taxes levied by cities, counties, transit and special purpose districts can add up to 2 percent to the sales tax, making the combined total on purchases as high as 8.25 percent.
You can find your specific sales tax rate by at this online rate finder.
Personal and real property taxes
Texas does not have a state property tax.
Local taxing units (counties, cities and school districts) assess and collect property taxes on all real and income-producing tangible personal property not exempt by state or federal law. Personal property (including automobiles, airplanes, boats and travel trailers) that does not produce income is mostly exempt from taxation.
Total tax rates vary from location to location and may change from year to year.
 A residential homestead exemption is available for all who owned property on Jan. 1. A greater exemption is available for taxpayers 65 and older or disabled.
 Homeowners need to file Form 50-114, Application for Residence Homestead Exemption, with their appropriate taxing jurisdictions between Jan. 1 and no later than April 30.
Inheritance and estate taxes
Texas does not impose an inheritance tax.
 Because of the phaseout of the federal estate tax credit, Texas' estate tax is not imposed on estates of persons who died in 2005 or later.
Other Texas tax facts
Texas fireworks retailers collect a 2 percent fireworks tax in addition to existing sales taxes. The fireworks tax is a state tax and does not affect the 2 percent local sales and use tax cap. These tax collections will fund a program to assist rural fire departments.
The Lone Star State's franchise tax applies to all active businesses receiving state law liability protection. This online calculator can help you figure your potential business tax liability.
A variety of publications and financial reports for various state-funded programs is available at this Web page.
For more information, contact the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts at (800) 252-5555 or at the Web site.
To download tax forms on this site, you will need to install a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here for instructions.

-- Updated: Feb. 4, 2008


Show Bankrate's community sharing policy
          Connect with us
Tax breaks for life's big events
Product Rate Change Last week
30 year fixed 3.82%  0.02 3.80%
15 year fixed 3.05%  0.04 3.01%
5/1 ARM 3.19%  0.02 3.17%
View Rates in your area Next
Product Rate Change Last week
30 year fixed refi 3.90%  0.03 3.87%
15 year fixed refi 3.12%  0.01 3.11%
10 year fixed refi 3.15%  0.02 3.13%
View Rates in your area Next
Product Rate Change Last week
60 month used car loan 2.68%  0.03 2.65%
48 month used car loan 2.76%  0.11 2.87%
60 month new car loan 3.12%  0.01 3.13%
View Rates in your area Next
Product Rate Change Last week
1 Year CD 1.07% --0.00 1.07%
2 Year CD 1.18% --0.00 1.18%
5 Year CD 1.76%  0.01 1.77%
View Rates in your area Next
Product Rate Change Last week
Balance Transfer Cards 15.86% --0.00 15.86%
Cash Back Cards 16.37% --0.00 16.37%
Low Interest Cards 11.10% --0.00 11.10%

Connect with us