- advertisement -
Bankrate's 2009 Tax Guide
State tax pages
Take a state tax expedition. Each of the states has its own way of gathering revenues from its residents.
 
Select:
State tax roundup
Oklahoma


Oklahoma eliminated its two highest tax brackets in 2007. Its state income tax rates now range from 0.5 percent to a high of 5.5 percent. More on Oklahoma taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.

Income
Sales
Property
Estate
Other
Personal income tax
Oklahoma collects income taxes from its residents at the following rates.

For single taxpayers and husband/wife filing separate returns:
-- 0.5 percent on the first $1,000 of taxable income
-- 1 percent on taxable income between $1,001 and $2,500
-- 2 percent on taxable income between $2,501 and $3,750
-- 3 percent on taxable income between $3,751 and $4,900
-- 4 percent on taxable income between $4,901 and $7,200
-- 5 percent on taxable income between $7,201 and $8,700
-- 5.5 percent on taxable income of $8,701 and above.

For married joint filers, qualifying widows/widowers and heads of households:
-- 0.5 percent on the first $2,000 of taxable income
-- 1 percent on taxable income between $2,001 and $5,000
-- 2 percent on taxable income between $5,001 and $7,500
-- 3 percent on taxable income between $7,501 and $9,800
-- 4 percent on taxable income between $9,801 and $12,200
-- 5 percent on taxable income between $12,201 and $15,000
-- 5.5 percent on taxable income of $15,001 and above.
Sooner State income tax forms are due on April 15 or the next business day if that date falls on a weekend or holiday.
Sales tax
Oklahoma's sales tax rate is 4.5 percent.
Oklahoma is a participant in the Streamlined Sales Tax initiative (SSTI) designed to create a nationwide, simplified system to bring uniformity to definitions of items in the sales tax base, reduce the paperwork burden on retailers and incorporate new technology. A document by the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board lists the taxable items under Oklahoma law in relation to the SSTI.
Oklahoma residents who live in the state for the entire year and whose total gross household income is $20,000 or less can file for sales tax relief. Taxpayers who can claim an exemption for a dependent, are age 65 or older or who are physically disabled and make up to $50,000 also are eligible.
The sales tax refund can be claimed by filing Form 538-S along with personal state income tax returns by the April due date. If no state income tax return is required, the form can be filed separately by June 30 (or the next business day if June 30 falls on a weekend) with the Oklahoma Tax Commission.
State law allows incorporated cities and towns as well as counties to levy local sales and use taxes for general and specific purposes of municipal government.
Personal and real property taxes
Property taxes, also known as ad valorem taxes, are the primary source of funding for county government operations.
Property taxes are paid based on the value of a taxpayer's property. The county assessor, a locally-elected officeholder, determines the value of most property in the county for tax purposes.
Taxpayers owning tangible personal property in the state of Oklahoma must file a property tax return with each county where property was located on Jan. 1 of each year on or before the following March 15. Personal property then is assessed at an amount between 10 percent and 15 percent of its fair cash value.
Real property is also assessed as of Jan. 1. It is valued at its "use value" -- fair cash value for the highest and best use for which the property was actually used (or classified for use) during the previous calendar year.
Oklahoma offers homeowners a credit for or refund of property taxes by filing Form 538-H.
Some older Oklahoma residents also are entitled to a property valuation freeze by filing Form OTC 994.
Many questions regarding property tax issues are handled at the county level. Each of Oklahoma's 77 counties has a county tax assessor. Information on your county assessor is available at the state's tax Web site.
Further questions regarding property tax issues can be directed to the Oklahoma Tax Commission's Ad Valorem Division at (405) 319-8200.
Inheritance and estate taxes
Oklahoma has no inheritance tax, but it does collect taxes on estates.
Oklahoma's estate tax does not correspond to federal estate tax laws and the appropriate state return must be filed within nine months after death or interest will accrue on any due taxes.
Other Oklahoma tax facts
QuickTax, the Oklahoma Tax Commission's business tax filing system, allows businesses to file, pay and receive confirmation online.
All of the state's online tax services can be found on Oklahoma's tax Web site.
For more information, contact Taxpayer Assistance at the Oklahoma Tax Commission at (405) 521-3160, or visit the Oklahoma Tax Commission Web site.
To download tax forms on this site, you will need to install a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here for instructions.
-- Updated: Feb. 4, 2009
   





 
- advertisement -
- advertisement -
- advertisement -