Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, February 11, 2016 9:57 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Winning the NFL championship means more bling. It also means the value of the showy Super Bowl ring is taxable.

Tuesday, February 09, 2016 1:52 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Some tax breaks that were made permanent parts of the tax code also are affected by inflation. The IRS has announced those effects for the 2016 tax year.

Thursday, February 04, 2016 11:10 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Use tax software? Then you could be a target of phishing scams seeking to steal your identity this filing season.

Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:30 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Sorry, Ben Franklin, but there’s a new adage about taxes: The only constants in life are taxes and tax scams.

Thursday, January 28, 2016 10:18 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

While American corporations continue to use tax techniques to take advantage of lower overseas taxes, the U.S. is a tax haven for some wealthy foreigners.

Tuesday, January 26, 2016 12:22 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

After a disaster, be sure you get all the help for which you’re eligible, including relief from the IRS.

Wednesday, January 20, 2016 2:06 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Only 4 states regulate paid tax preparers. A recent consumer survey found most taxpayers think that all tax pros should be licensed.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 12:23 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Despite tighter security measures, the IRS is hopeful this filing season will be better for it and taxpayers than last year.

Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:25 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

If you didn’t win anything in the $1.5 billion Powerball drawing, you’re not alone. Even state tax collectors are losers this time.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016 11:53 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Do you have the 6 winning Powerball numbers? The IRS hopes so. Uncle Sam wants his almost 40% cut of your $1.4 billion winnings.

Page 1 of 6512345...102030...Last »