Economics Blog

Friday, September 5, 2014 11:29 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The economy added jobs at a surprisingly slower pace in August.

» Read more
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 11:43 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A flat retail sales reading shows consumers are on the couch.

» Read more
Friday, August 1, 2014 2:05 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Though unemployment is higher, the economy keeps pumping out jobs at a good clip.

» Read more
Thursday, July 24, 2014 11:46 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

New sign-ups for unemployment benefits drop to the lowest level in eight years.

» Read more
Thursday, July 3, 2014 11:56 am
By Crissinda Ponder · Bankrate.com

The government’s latest employment reading shows hiring was better than expected during June.

» Read more
Tuesday, July 1, 2014 6:05 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

This week’s employment report may provide more clarity about hiring, pay and other issues.

» Read more
Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:41 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Growth in retail sales largely reflects sales of cars and the fuel to run them.

» Read more
Friday, June 6, 2014 11:17 am
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

The government’s latest jobs report points to progress, though there’s still room for improvement.

» Read more
Thursday, May 29, 2014 12:12 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

A report showing a very weak economic performance during the first quarter is already being discounted.

» Read more
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 2:09 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Winter may have ended, but weak retail numbers show many merchants still felt a chill in April.

» Read more
Page 1 of 712345...Last »