Florida is 1 of only 7 states that do not tax individual wage income. It does, however, assess a state corporate income tax. The state's intangible personal property tax was eliminated in 2007. More on Florida taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.
Personal income tax
Florida residents pay no personal income tax.
The state's intangible tax on stocks, bonds, and mutual and money market funds has been repealed for 2007 and subsequent years.
Florida levies a 6% sales tax.
Counties impose additional sales surtaxes. The county tax rates are levied on the first $5,000 of the purchase price for certain transactions.
For vehicle and mobile home sales, the applicable surtax rate is that of the county where the vehicle will be registered.
Personal and real property taxes
Property, or ad valorem, taxation provides local government funding in Florida. The Property Tax Administration Program, or PTA, administers the assessment and collection of taxes on all real, personal and centrally assessed property. Florida's Property Valuations and Tax Data book provides a comprehensive look at the latest available property tax numbers across the state.
If you purchase a home in Florida, the tax on it is based on the just or fair market value of the property. Ad valorem taxes are assessed and collected annually by the county property appraiser. Taxpayers with questions about the process should review the Florida Property Taxpayer's Bill of Rights.
A $50,000 homestead exemption is available to homeowners who meet certain requirements -- primarily that the property is the taxpayer's primary residence. Additional exemptions are also available in several other taxpayer situations. Details on the various benefits can be found on the state's homestead exemption home page.
Owners of tangible personal property must file an annual return. However, the first $25,000 in assessed value is exempt from taxes.
Questions about local taxes can be directed to your local county property appraiser.
Inheritance and estate taxes
There is no inheritance tax.
Florida's estate tax was tied to the federal estate tax laws. As such, federal law changes meant Florida's estate tax was eliminated for estates of those who died after Dec. 31, 2004.
Other Florida tax facts
Flags, both the U.S. and Sunshine State versions, are exempt from state and local sales taxes.
Taxpayers can obtain tax assistance and information at one of the state's service centers.
Florida residents can make child support payments online.
For more information, call the Department of Revenue Service Center at (800) 352-3671 or go to the website.
To download tax forms on this site, you will need to install a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here for instructions.