Penalties for driving without insurance in Utah
Insurance is a requirement in most states. Your auto insurance can help you pay for the damages you cause in an auto accident, potentially saving you from financial devastation. However, not everyone has auto insurance. Driving without insurance can lead to several penalties.
Drivers in Utah may want to understand the importance of having an auto insurance policy, because there are several penalties for driving while uninsured.
Minimum insurance required in Utah
Most states have minimum auto insurance requirements. The required coverages in Utah are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person: This coverage pays for the injuries you cause to the driver and passengers in the other vehicle(s) or to anyone outside of a vehicle that you injure.
- $65,000 bodily injury per accident: This is the maximum amount the insurance company will pay for injuries to others per each accident.
- $15,000 property damage: This is the amount the insurance company will for property damaged that you cause. This can apply to the other vehicle(s), personal property in the other vehicle(s) that you damage or damage to property outside of a vehicle, like a fence.
Because Utah is a no-fault state, drivers must also carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
Although there are minimum requirements in place, Utah drivers can purchase more insurance. They can increase their liability limits and add more coverages as well. Many insurance professionals recommend higher liability limits, since they provide more financial protection in the event that you cause an accident.
Additionally, minimum coverage does not provide you with any protection for your own vehicle. To get that, you will need to purchase comprehensive and collision coverages. If your vehicle is financed, your lender will likely require you to have these coverages.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Utah
Utah drivers are legally required to carry auto insurance. Police officers routinely ask for proof of insurance if you are pulled over or in an accident. If you are an uninsured driver or cannot provide evidence of your insurance coverage, you may face several penalties.
Driving without insurance in Utah is classified as a class B misdemeanor and can result in fines ranging from $400 to $1,000 if you are convicted. Your license may also be suspended. In order to reinstate it, you will need to have an SR-22 form filed. This is a form that an insurance company files with the DMV to prove that you are maintaining insurance, so you will have to purchase an insurance policy before reinstating your license.
Fees from Utah’s online insurance verification system
The Utah DMV has partnered with Insure-Rite, Inc to help in their efforts to keep uninsured drivers off the road. The system allows for the insurance verification process to be done electronically. If you are unable to provide proof of insurance, you could face fees and a license or registration suspension.
|Reason for fee||Fee amount|
Getting into an accident without insurance
Getting into an accident is never a pleasant experience, but if you are uninsured, it adds another layer of complication. Drivers with insurance are able to file claims with their insurance company, which may help to pay for the damages caused.
For drivers without insurance, there can be major repercussions. In Utah, you can be subject to all of the penalties mentioned above. Your vehicle may be impounded and you might even face the prospect of jail time, depending on the severity of your accident. In addition, you are responsible for the costs of any injuries or damage you caused. Not having insurance could mean you are responsible for those damages out of pocket, and can result in lawsuits and even the seizure of your assets.
Even if you are not at fault in an accident, if you cannot show proof of insurance it could result in your license being suspended and you needing an SR-22 form to get it reinstated, which could make your insurance more expensive than it would be otherwise.
Frequently asked questions
What if you provide false insurance information?
Not being able to provide insurance information can result in having to pay fines or having your license suspended. Providing false insurance could be considered insurance fraud and may be punishable by law.
How much is car insurance in Utah?
On average, drivers in the US pay $565 per year for minimum coverage car insurance and $1,674 for full coverage. Drivers in Utah pay $528 a year for minimum coverage and $1,306 annually for full coverage. Minimum coverage in Utah is roughly in line with the national average, but full coverage, on average, is considerably less expensive.
What are some additional coverages that I can carry?
You have to carry at least Utah’s minimum levels of coverage to drive legally in the state. If you have a loan or lease on your vehicle, you will also likely have to carry collision and comprehensive coverages. In addition, there are several optional coverages when it comes to auto insurance. You may be able to add coverages like car rental, roadside assistance or gap insurance. Every company offers a different selection of coverages; talking with a representative from your company may help you decide what coverages to purchase.