The purpose of auto insurance is to protect yourself in an accident, whether you or another driver is at fault. Many insurance companies offer coverage, and rates vary based on your factors such as your area, your car and your driving record. However, when someone’s driving record results in their license being suspended or revoked, standard insurance may no longer an option.
Michigan’s SR-22, also known as a certificate of financial responsibility, is a form filed with the state that proves the driver meets insurance requirements. This court-issued certificate allows for one’s license to be reinstated, or a new temporary license to be issued. Once the SR-22 is filed, the driver can then apply for regular auto insurance. However, because of the driving violations that warrant this type of insurance, only specific companies that offer SR-22 will insure these types of drivers.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
An SR-22 is not a type of insurance. Instead, it is a form your insurance company files on your behalf to show the state that you meet insurance requirements.
An SR-22 is required for drivers with a history of certain driving violations. Major convictions, such as a DUI, or several minor violations like multiple speeding tickets may be enough to qualify someone as high risk. Someone might also be required to get an SR-22 if they are in an at-fault accident without at least the minimum required car insurance
If the state suspends or revokes a driver’s license, the driver will need an SR-22. The first step is to find an insurance company that offers SR-22 coverage. Not all companies offer this because they have strict underwriting rules that prohibit insuring high-risk drivers. Once you purchase a plan, your carrier will file the necessary paperwork with Michigan’s Secretary of State.
The driver must continue to maintain the minimum liability coverage. In Michigan, this requirement is $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. If there is any lapse in coverage, the insurance company will notify the state of Michigan, resulting in another suspension or revocation.
SR-22 Michigan alternatives
In addition to the SR-22 form, drivers may need other forms in certain circumstances. The form needed varies mostly based upon state requirements. Some states require drivers to show financial responsibility after reckless driving, while others require a specific type of proof of insurance. While some forms serve the same purpose, they may have their own title specific to the state that requires it. The SR-22 is the most common among the states, but just as insurance laws vary from state to state, so do the form requirements.
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||All states except Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island||State liability minimum
maintain insurance for a set number of years depending on state
|SR-19||Delaware, Texas, California and Maryland||Active policy|
|SR-21||Indiana, Florida, Hawaii and Georgia||Proof of insurance during time of an accident|
|SR-22A||Georgia||State liability minimum|
|FR-44||Virginia, Florida||State liability minimum|
|SR-50||Indiana||State liability minimum|
- SR-19: This form proves the driver had insurance at the time of an accident. A driver can file after being involved in an accident with someone else who was uninsured.
- SR-21: This form proves that a driver had an active auto policy during the time of an accident.
- SR-22A: This is required for drivers with driving violations that resulted in misdemeanor or felony such as a DUI conviction or an at-fault accident.
- FR-44: This document proves that a driver has insurance after a major driving violation.
- SR-50: This certificate is evidence that a driver carries the minimum liability insurance coverage required.
Much like the standard SR-22, the non-owners SR-22 is filed for drivers responsible for certain violations. The major difference between the two is that the non-owners form is for drivers who do not own a vehicle.
If someone plans to still drive by renting a vehicle or borrowing a friend’s car, they need to be insured. In this case, their driving privileges are restored, but the only coverage provided is for liability in case they injure someone else on the road. There is no physical damage coverage because the non-owners SR-22 only provides coverage to the driver and not a specific vehicle.
A non-owner SR-22 allows for those with a reckless driving history and no car to still be able to drive when necessary.
SR-22 Michigan insurance costs
Compared to all other states, Michigan is one of the highest-ranked states for auto insurance with an average of $2,309 per year. Having to pay the associated fees for an SR-22 puts costs well above that average.
Insurance companies in Michigan that offer SR-22 coverage have a filing fee. The insurance company typically charges up to $50 to file the form on the driver’s behalf, and the Michigan Secretary of State will charge a fee to reinstate your license.
The highest costs involved will be the higher insurance premiums. If someone is classified as a high-risk driver, insurers will charge more to account for the added risk compared to someone with fewer or no violations. Some insurance companies may also require the full premium to be paid upfront.
Costs are also added if a driver is responsible for paying any judgments or fines. The most common incident that results in needing an SR-22 is a DUI, which can incur thousands of dollars in fines alone. If someone is required to get an SR-22 for an at-fault accident without insurance, the at-fault driver is responsible for all associated fees, which also can result in thousands of dollars.
Finding cheap SR-22 coverage may require some work, but shopping and comparing will help you make the right decision if you need to switch insurance providers.
Frequently asked questions
How long do I need an SR-22 in Michigan?
Each state requires a different length of time for how long an SR-22 should be maintained. For Michigan, it is a three-year period, and if there is any lapse in insurance coverage, the process starts over.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Michigan?
Purchasing an SR-22 certificate requires several steps. First, find an insurance company that offers SR-22 insurance. Next, apply for coverage and pay your insurance premium. Lastly, the insurance company will file the SR-22 with the state of Michigan.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Michigan?
On average, it can cost up to $50 to have an SR-22 filed. While it is a certificate and not actual insurance, having an SR-22 filed results in higher insurance premiums due to being a high-risked driver.
What other factors can warrant the need for an SR-22?
Besides the most common DUI, an accumulation of seven points on your record or being in an accident while uninsured are all reasons a judge may order someone to need an SR-22.
What happens to my SR-22 if I move to a different state?
If you move out of state, your SR-22 will follow you. If you cancel your SR-22 insurance prior to the move, it will result in issues registering your car and getting new insurance.