The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Driving above the posted speed limit is illegal in Louisiana and drivers who get caught can face penalties, including insurance rate increases of 16% or more. Louisiana drivers who get pulled over for speeding could receive a fine in addition to a higher car insurance premium. If you drive in Louisiana, it is important to know how a speeding ticket can impact your car insurance premium and what other consequences you might be subject to.
How much is a speeding ticket in Louisiana?
So how much is a speeding ticket? Louisiana drivers tend to face costly speeding ticket fines. The average speeding ticket cost in Louisiana tends to be more expensive than the fines in some other states. However, the actual cost will depend on the parish where the incident occurred and the speed the driver was going over the posted limit.
For example, in Iberia Parish and St. Martin Parish, a standard speeding ticket comes with a fine between $287-$362. Louisiana is one of the few states that does not use a points system that can lead to a license suspension after a certain number of violations.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Louisiana?
Does your insurance go up for a speeding ticket in Louisiana? It’s likely. Getting a speeding ticket in Louisiana could result in a rate increase for your car insurance. However, the actual rate increase depends on a few personal factors, including the driver’s age and gender. Young drivers will see a rate increase of 16% on average and adult drivers will see a rate hike of around 20% on average.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
The data in the table above shows that 18-year-old drivers pay significantly higher car insurance rates before and after a speeding ticket in Louisiana compared to 40-year-old drivers. In general, younger drivers tend to pay more for car insurance due to having less road experience and being a higher risk. Additionally, male drivers pay higher rates than females in both age groups.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Louisiana
Getting pulled over for speeding in Louisiana could result in a higher car insurance premium. Unfortunately, your rate can still increase if you have a perfect driving record otherwise. However, there are ways that you could lower your car insurance rate if it goes up after a speeding ticket.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Every insurance company in Louisiana charges a different rate for coverage. If your car insurance rate increases after a speeding ticket, consider getting rates from other companies and see if you can find a cheaper premium elsewhere. You can typically switch insurance companies at any point during your policy period without paying any cancellation fees.
In the table below, you can see the average rates before and after a speeding ticket from some of the biggest car insurance companies in Louisiana:
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
|Louisiana Farm Bureau||$2,696||$2,697||<1%|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$1,563||$1,717||10%|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
When cross-shopping car insurance companies, make sure to pay attention to factors besides price, like the coverage options, endorsements and discounts available. Also consider looking into the company’s customer service reviews and financial strength ratings from third-party organizations like J.D. Power and AM Best.
Review your coverage
When you purchase car insurance, you are often given the option to add endorsements to your policy, like accident forgiveness or custom parts coverage. If you want to lower your rate, consider reviewing your coverage and dropping endorsements that you may no longer need for a lower rate.
Improve your credit score
Drivers with a good credit score are often rewarded with a lower car insurance rate because they statistically pose less risk to the insurance company. Raising your credit score, even by several points, could help you save money on your monthly premium.
Other speeding ticket considerations
If you get a speeding ticket in Louisiana, one of the biggest consequences may be a higher car insurance rate and a significant fine. Drivers can either pay the fine online or request a hearing to fight the ticket. Going to traffic court may allow the driver to request a smaller fine, get a monthly payment plan or replace their monetary fine with community service.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
There is no single best car insurance company for drivers with a history of speeding tickets. Regardless of driving record, the best car insurance provider is unique to each individual, based on their coverage needs, location and budget. If you are shopping for a new provider, some of the top-rated car insurance companies are Amica, USAA, Nationwide, State Farm and Geico.
What is the cost of car insurance in Louisiana?
The average cost of car insurance in Louisiana is $2,724 per year for full coverage insurance and $975 per year for minimum coverage insurance. Based on Bankrate’s sample rate quotes, Louisiana is the most expensive state for car insurance. For comparison, the national average rate is $1,674 per year for a full coverage policy.
How much car insurance is required in Louisiana?
Every driver in Louisiana is required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. The minimum requirements are abbreviated as 15/30/25, which includes $15,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $30,000 liability in bodily injury coverage per accident and $25,000 in property damage liability coverage.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on 18-year-old and 40-year-old male and female drivers with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base) and single speeding ticket
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the ages 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied. Depending on age, drivers may be a renter or homeowner.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.