The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of. Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Finding affordable car insurance after a DWI in South Dakota can be difficult. The average car insurance premium in South Dakota goes up 65% after a DWI, compared to a premium for a driver with a clean record. The average increase is nearly $1,000 per year — significantly more than premiums before the DUI conviction. Car insurance is just one of the costs of a DUI in South Dakota. You may also face fines, legal fees and other expenses. All drivers should know the South Dakota DUI laws and consequences to avoid a lasting impact.
DUI laws in South Dakota
According to NHTSA data, 38% of the 130 annual deaths in South Dakota were alcohol-related. The state has strict rules to lower the risk of death or severe injury. If your blood alcohol level is .08 percent or more by weight, you could be charged with a DWI in South Dakota. It is also unlawful to drive under the influence of marijuana, drugs or controlled substances that could prevent you from driving safely.
South Dakota DWI penalties range from $450 to $2,000 fine and 30 days to one year in county jail, depending on the severity of the violation. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days, which could affect your car insurance.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in South Dakota
Car insurance providers find a DUI or DWI to be one of the most serious charges you can have on your driving record. Driving under the influence can lead to fatalities, severe injuries and costly damages. Depending on your insurance company, coverage may be denied, canceled or not renewed if you are convicted of a DWI in South Dakota.
Because insurance companies consider a DUI high-risk behavior, your car insurance premiums will most likely go up. Worst of all, the increase in your car insurance premiums after a DUI is likely to stay high for years after the conviction. As long as the conviction is on your driving record, your car insurance premiums will likely remain higher than average. Take a look at how your premiums may increase in South Dakota compared to the national average.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
Finding car insurance after a DUI in South Dakota
A DUI conviction could cost you your car insurance coverage or drive your premiums higher than you can afford. You may need to find a more affordable alternative by shopping around for car insurance quotes and switching carriers. However, not all insurance companies are “DUI-friendly.”
Bankrate looked at average premiums after a DWI conviction from several insurance companies in South Dakota, so you have an idea of what to expect. The cheapest car insurance company after a DUI is Progressive, closely followed by USAA.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
If the quotes you receive when looking for insurance after a DWI are still more than you can afford, South Dakota has an Automobile Insurance Plan (AIPSO) for drivers who cannot find affordable insurance.
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in South Dakota impact my criminal record?
A DWI in South Dakota should not be taken lightly. A first-time DUI could be a misdemeanor charge unless there were aggravating circumstances, such as refusal to take a blood alcohol level test or if you were driving under the influence with minors in the vehicle. First-time offenders typically get the lightest sentence. Drivers convicted of two or more DUIs could face felony charges. Having a felony on your record could affect whether you can vote, what countries allow you to travel and may even put your job at risk.
What is the fine for a DWI in South Dakota?
South Dakota DWI fines range from $450 to $2,000. However, there are other costs associated with driving under the influence. Your license will be suspended for at least 30 days, and you may need to pay to get it reinstated. You may also need to pay for taxis during the time you are not allowed to drive. Other costs include lawyer’s fees, court costs, vehicle impound fees and higher car insurance premiums.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.