Oregon drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance to legally drive. To meet Oregon’s car insurance laws, drivers must carry a special type of insurance, called personal liability protection (PIP), in addition to liability insurance. PIP kicks in when you or a passenger gets injured in an accident, regardless of which driver was at fault. Bankrate is dedicated to helping drivers learn more about car insurance, including coverage types like PIP to understand when it kicks in and how much it may cost.

Compare rates and save on auto insurance today!

Close X
Advertising Disclosure
This advertisement is powered by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249) and a corporate affiliate of Bankrate. The offers and links that appear on this advertisement are from companies that compensate Coverage.com in different ways. The compensation received and other factors, such as your location, may impact what offers and links appear, and how, where and in what order they appear. While we seek to provide a wide range of offers, we do not include every product or service that may be available. Our goal is to keep information accurate and timely, but some information may not be current. Your actual offer from an advertiser may be different from the offer on this advertisement. All offers are subject to additional terms and conditions.

Compare auto insurance rates

Answer a few questions to see personalized rates from top carriers.
Caret DownCaret Up
Please select age
Location-Icon

Save on auto insurance with quotes from trusted providers like:

Progressive

Drivers switch & save an average of $750+/year

Liberty Mutual

Are you overpaying for auto insurance?

Allstate

Safe drivers choose Allstate®

Powered by Coverage.com (NPN: 19966249)
Insurance Disclosure

Coverage.com, LLC is a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249). Coverage.com services are only available in states where it is licensed. Coverage.com may not offer insurance coverage in all states or scenarios. All insurance products are governed by the terms in the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as approval for coverage, premiums, commissions and fees) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the underwriting insurer. The information on this site does not modify any insurance policy terms in any way.

See more providers in
Choose from insurers in

What is PIP insurance?

PIP insurance in Oregon — or in any other PIP state — is a coverage designed to step in to financially protect you and your passengers, regardless of who caused the accident. After an accident, medical bills can add up. But with PIP, you get help paying for anything from an ambulance ride to lost wages as you get back to 100 percent after the incident. And Oregon PIP coverage extends beyond you to cover your passengers’ medical expenses, too.

PIP coverage can be a helpful addition to your car insurance policy. Even if you have a fairly robust policy with multiple types of car insurance like liability, collision and comprehensive coverage, you may still be on the hook for your medical expenses without PIP. Liability coverage only pays for medical expenses for people you hurt while driving (like the driver and passengers in a car you rear-end). Collision coverage helps to pay for repairs for your vehicle, and comprehensive coverage can help repair your vehicle for damage from incidents other than collision, like theft and vandalism. But that still leaves you without a means to pay for your own medical bills, let alone your passengers’ injuries in an accident.

How does Oregon PIP work?

In some ways, Oregon PIP coverage works very similarly to PIP coverage in other states where it’s available. That is, PIP insurance helps cover the following in almost every state where it is required or optional:

  • Ambulance rides
  • Medical care, including diagnostics like X-rays
  • Surgery
  • Dental care
  • Prosthesis
  • A percentage of your lost wages as a result of your injury

In Oregon, specifically, state law also extends PIP insurance to cover:

  • Essential services up to $30 a day over 52 weeks (if unemployed and unable to perform household duties for at least 14 days)
  • Lost wages, up to $3,000 a month over 52 weeks (if employed and unable to work for at least 14 days)
  • Funeral expenses, up to $5,000
  • Child care at $25 per day (up to $750 max) if you are hospitalized for more than 24 hours

However, PIP limits can vary depending on your chosen coverage levels and how you are using it. For example, Oregon’s minimum insurance requirements include $15,000 in PIP, but that does not mean that all of those funds can be used for essential services or child care costs.

Because all Oregon drivers are supposed to carry PIP, the procedure to start an injury claim after the accident is the same, whether you caused the accident or another driver did. Through your PIP, your insurance company can be the one to cover injuries for you and any others in your car. So after an accident with any injuries, you should contact your insurance company to start your PIP claim and help get your and/or your passenger’s resulting medical expenses covered.

Oregon PIP insurance helps cover at least $15,000 per person. So say you get into an accident with one passenger in the car. The ambulance ride for both of you, the necessary tests to determine the extent of your injuries and any surgeries either of you need would be covered (minus any deductible and up to $15,000 for each of you). And assuming you do not exhaust the $15,000 limit with your initial medical care, if you were unable to work for a few weeks, your Oregon PIP coverage could help pay lost wages up to $3,000 a month for 52 weeks, easing a challenging season.

One last thing you should know: state law dictates that your Oregon PIP cannot come with a deductible of more than $250. The goal is to minimize the out-of-pocket expense to cover your deductible and does not prevent you from getting the medical care you need.

Is PIP required in Oregon?

Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services specifically requires that drivers carry PIP insurance of at least $15,000 per person. And since driving without the required insurance can land you with hefty fines — or even a license suspension — it’s crucial to have auto insurance in Oregon.

Beyond the $15,000 of PIP insurance per person, Oregon drivers also need at least a minimum of:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $20,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident
  • $25,000 of uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 of uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per accident

How much does PIP cost in Oregon?

The amount you pay for PIP in Oregon depends on your risk as a driver. Oregon car insurance companies consider everything from the vehicle you drive and your driving history to ZIP code and age when determining your car insurance rates, including the cost of your PIP insurance in Oregon.

Key things to note about PIP insurance in Oregon

Now that we have Oregon PIP insurance explained, we can look at the main points to understand:

  • PIP is required for all Oregon drivers.
  • Drivers need to have at least $15,000 of PIP.
  • PIP insurance can cover medical expenses, lost wages, child care and more for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.
  • Oregon PIP deductibles are capped at $250.

Frequently asked questions

    • In Oregon, you can file a PIP claim with your auto insurance company any time you and/or any of your passengers get injured in a car accident. This applies regardless of whether you caused the accident or another driver was at fault. To get your claim started, either call your insurance company or use their online/in-app claim form.
    • PIP is slightly different from medical payments coverage in that it has more extensive coverage. While medical payments coverage helps with the cost of medical expenses after an accident, PIP may help with other expenses you might incur as a result of your injury, like lost wages or child care costs.
    • If you get injured in an accident and need to use your PIP benefits, your premium should not increase. You can get compensated for your qualifying losses up to your policy’s coverage limit. Even if you max out what your policy will pay, your rate would not be affected.
    • Although PIP (which is sometimes called no-fault insurance) is required in Oregon, Oregon is not a no-fault state. If you get into an accident, your PIP could be used to immediately cover your medical expenses and lost wages. However, because Oregon is a fault state, it does not limit your legal right to sue an at-fault driver for your losses.