Finding car insurance in Massachusetts after a DUI

1

At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here’s an explanation for

There are nearly 30 people killed each day in the U.S. by drivers who are driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. To be convicted of a DUI, each state has its own rules and laws. Although DUIs are different from driving while intoxicated (DWIs), the consequences are largely alike for both convictions. They are both considered illegal offenses and criminal felonies in the U.S.

After you have been convicted of a DUI in Massachusetts, it may be difficult to find a car insurance company who is willing to insure you. Even if you find an insurance company that will give you car insurance coverage, your rates will likely be significantly higher than what you would have had to pay prior to your DUI conviction.

In Massachusetts, the average cost of car insurance before a DUI is $1,223 annually. After you are convicted of a DUI, the average cost of car insurance becomes $2,464, which is a 101% increase annually.

DUI laws in Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, a driver is considered to be legally drunk when non-commercial drivers above 21 have a blood alcohol level higher than .08 percent. Commercial vehicle drivers are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is higher than .04 percent. Drivers who are under 21 only need to have a blood alcohol level of .02 to be considered drunk.

The penalties for drunk driving in Massachusetts include the following:

  • First offense: First offenders face imprisonment for up to two and one-half years, a fine from $500 to $5,000, and driver’s license suspension from 45 to 90 days.
  • Second offense: Drivers can face jail-time from 60 days to two and one half years, a fine from $600 to $10,000 and driver’s license revocation for two years years.
  • Third offense: The offender will face jail-time for 180 days to two and one-half years, a fine of $1,000 to $15,000, driver’s license revocation of eight years.
  • Fourth offense: The offender will face imprisonment for two years to two and one-half years, a fine of $1,500 to $25,000, driver’s license suspension up to 10 years.
  • Fifth and subsequent offenses: The offender will face imprisonment for at least two and one-half years, a fine of $2,000 to $50,000, imprisonment in a state prison for up to five years, and driver’s license revocation for life.

How a DUI affects your car insurance in Massachusetts

In Massachusetts, a DUI is considered a criminal offense and is illegal. If you are convicted of a DUI, you will immediately be considered a high-risk driver to insurance companies. You may not even be able to obtain car insurance or renew your car insurance policy depending on the insurance company and other factors such as your driving history and record, credit score, and age. Even if you are approved for car insurance in Massachusetts through an insurance carrier, you will have to pay significantly higher annual insurance premiums after a DUI.

On average, drivers in Massachusetts convicted of a DUI will pay 101 percent more, whereas nationally, drivers would pay about 99 percent more as shown in the chart below. Finding affordable car insurance in Massachusetts after a DUI will be far from easy, which is why it will be crucial to examine all of your insurance options. Each insurance company will be different in coverage options and pricing, so to get the most affordable rates in Massachusetts after a DUI, it will be necessary to research the best car insurance companies in Massachusetts.

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percent increase
Massachusetts $1,223 $2,464 +101%
National average $1,674 $3,336 +99%

Finding car insurance after a DUI in Massachusetts

Finding car insurance after a DUI in Massachusetts can be difficult. Once you are convicted of a DUI, car insurance companies will see you as a high-risk driver, placing you in a negative light for car insurance. If this was not your first DUI, there is a high chance you may even be rejected new car insurance and even renewal.

Luckily in Massachusetts there are still car insurance companies that are willing to approve drivers convicted with a DUI. Some of the car insurance that offer the most competitive rates for DUI in Massachusetts are shown in the chart below. Based on Bankrate’s research, Progressive, State Farm, Travelers, Geico, and Amica offer the most competitive car insurance rates for drivers who have a DUI on their record. The average annual premium after a DUI for each car insurance company are listed in the chart below.

Car insurance company Average annual premium after a DUI
Progressive $2,067
State Farm $2,481
Travelers $2,906
Geico $3,227
Amica $3,823

Frequently asked questions

How will a DUI in Massachusetts impact my criminal record?

In Massachusetts, any first offense for DUI will appear on your criminal record for life. You can request that your DUI be removed from your record, but your request may not be honored.

How can I lower my car insurance rates after a DUI in Massachusetts?

If you have been convicted of a DUI in Massachusetts and are facing higher insurance premiums, you may be able to lower your car insurance premium by looking for another car insurance company and by applying for discounts. Taking a defensive driving course may also help lower your insurance costs.

Which car insurance companies offer the best rates after a DUI in Massachusetts?

Your car insurance premium will vary depending on the insurance company and your personal characteristics such as your driving record, age, credit score, and zip code. On average, the car insurance companies in Massachusetts that offers the most competitive rates after a DUI include Progressive, State Farm, and Amica.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.