Finding car insurance in Maine after a DUI

1
VistaVision/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol comes with significant consequences in Maine, one of which is paying a high car insurance premium. Maine drivers who are convicted of a DUI will see an average car insurance rate increase of 92%, which is slightly lower than the United States national average increase of 99%.

In 2018, there were 137 traffic-related fatalities in Maine, 49 of which involved alcohol. This means that alcohol was involved in 36% of all traffic deaths. Understanding Maine’s DUI laws and how having a DUI or DWI conviction could affect your car insurance might help you to make more informed decisions about your coverage.

DUI laws in Maine

Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher is considered to be operating a vehicle under the influence in Maine. If you are convicted, you will likely face penalties that depend on the specific circumstances of your offense.

After a first DUI in Maine, your license will likely be conditional for up to a year. With any subsequent offenses, you could be required to maintain a conditional license for 10 years.

If you get a DWI in Maine, you will also probably have to pay a fine. For a first offense, the fine is $500. The fine increases for each subsequent DUI conviction. After four or more charges, the fine may be as high as $2,500. Jail time is also a possibility with a Maine DUI, but the length of time varies based on the number of offenses you have committed and whether you consented to a breathalyzer test.

There are certain aggravating factors that could affect your DUI penalties. These include a BAC of 0.15 or more, driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit and having a passenger under 21 years of age in your vehicle.

How a DUI affects your car insurance in Maine

One of the biggest costs associated with a DUI is paying a high car insurance premium. If you get a DUI in Maine, you can expect your car insurance premium to increase by an average of 92%, which is lower than the national average rate increase of 99%.

The table below shows the average annual full coverage rate increase after a DUI in Maine, compared to the national average:

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percent increase
Maine $965 $1,855 +92%
National average $1,674 $3,336 +99%

If you have a DUI on your record in Maine, you are likely to be considered high-risk by insurance companies. Providers increase premiums to compensate for the added risk of insuring you. In some cases, insurance companies could decline to write a policy for you at all.

You may also need to file an SR-22 form in order to reinstate your license after a DUI conviction. An SR-22 is a form that your insurance company will file with the Maine BMV to prove that you are maintaining the required levels of car insurance coverage.

Finding car insurance after a DUI in Maine

It is possible to find affordable car insurance with a DUI, but it can be more challenging. Some companies do not write policies for high-risk drivers. Even with companies that will write coverage for drivers with a DUI, you should expect that your premium will be affected by your conviction.

Bankrate obtained premium information from Quadrant Information Services for some of the major insurance carriers in Maine. Below are the companies’ average annual full coverage premiums after a DUI:

Car insurance company Average annual premium after a DUI
USAA $2,126
State Farm $2,481
Farmers $3,210
Geico $3,227
Allstate $4,287

One of the best ways to find car insurance after a DUI in Maine is to shop around, compare providers using your personal criteria and get multiple quotes. If you are struggling to find a car insurance company to insure you, you may want to get quotes from insurance providers that specialize in non-standard insurance, as they may be more likely to approve a policy.

Frequently asked questions

How will a DUI in Maine impact my criminal record?

Driving under the influence is illegal in Maine, as it is in most states, and will show up on your criminal record. You will likely be fined, have your license suspended and could face jail time and other penalties.

How can I get a cheaper car insurance rate after a Maine DUI?

Finding cheap insurance after a DUI may be more difficult, but there are ways to lower your premium. Getting quotes from several providers might help you find a company that can offer the lowest rate for the type and amount of coverage you need. You may also want to research insurance providers that offer multiple discounts you can take advantage of. Many insurance companies will lower your rate if you pay your annual premium in full, bundle your home and auto insurance policy or sign up for paperless statements.

How much does car insurance cost in Maine?

The average cost of car insurance in Maine is $294 annually for minimum coverage and $965 per year for full coverage. Maine has the cheapest car insurance rates in the country. However, if you have a DUI or other traffic violation on your record, you will generally pay a higher rate. Drivers in Maine pay an average of $1,855 per year for full coverage after a DUI.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Elizabeth Rivelli
Insurance Contributor
Elizabeth has two years of experience writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate.com, The Simple Dollar, Coverage.com and NextAdvisor, among others. In addition to auto insurance, Elizabeth regularly writes about home insurance, renters insurance and life insurance. She also covers industry trends and general insurance education.
Reviewed by
Insurance Editor