Kansas drivers are legally required to carry at least a minimum amount of car insurance to drive. Without car insurance, drivers can face steep consequences, including hefty fines, a suspended license and even jail time. Car insurance is a required expense, but a policy can save you from the fallout of driving uninsured.

Compare rates and save on auto insurance today!

Close X
Advertising Disclosure
This advertisement is powered by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249) and a corporate affiliate of Bankrate. The offers and links that appear on this advertisement are from companies that compensate Coverage.com in different ways. The compensation received and other factors, such as your location, may impact what offers and links appear, and how, where and in what order they appear. While we seek to provide a wide range of offers, we do not include every product or service that may be available. Our goal is to keep information accurate and timely, but some information may not be current. Your actual offer from an advertiser may be different from the offer on this advertisement. All offers are subject to additional terms and conditions.

Compare auto insurance rates

Answer a few questions to see personalized rates from top carriers.
Caret DownCaret Up
Please select age
Location-Icon Created with Sketch.

Save on auto insurance with quotes from trusted providers like:

Progressive

Drivers switch & save an average of $750+/year

Liberty Mutual

Are you overpaying for auto insurance?

Allstate

Safe drivers choose Allstate®

Powered by Coverage.com (NPN: 19966249)
Insurance Disclosure

Coverage.com, LLC is a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249). Coverage.com services are only available in states where it is licensed. Coverage.com may not offer insurance coverage in all states or scenarios. All insurance products are governed by the terms in the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as approval for coverage, premiums, commissions and fees) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the underwriting insurer. The information on this site does not modify any insurance policy terms in any way.

See more providers in
Choose from insurers in

Minimum insurance required in Kansas

The minimum amount of car insurance required in Kansas is 25/50/25 for personal liability coverage. Personal liability includes bodily injury coverage and property damage coverage. Uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage are also required. These coverage types apply if you get hit by a driver who does not have insurance or does not have enough coverage to cover your injuries.

The minimum coverage limits include:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident

In addition to the coverage types listed above, Kansas law also requires that drivers carry personal injury protection (PIP) to satisfy the state’s no-fault insurance laws. PIP will cover your and any passengers’ medical expenses and related costs, up to your policy limit, after an accident regardless of which driver was responsible. The minimum amount of PIP required in Kansas includes:

  • $4,500 per person for medical expenses
  • $900 per month for disability/loss of income (up to one year)
  • $25 per day for in-home medical services (up to one year)
  • $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation costs
  • $4,500 for rehabilitation services

Penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas

If you get caught driving without car insurance in Kansas, you will likely face stiff penalties. After your first offense, you may be required to pay a fine ranging from $300 to $1,000. After two or more offenses within a three-year period, the fine increases to a minimum of $800 and a maximum of $2,500. There is also the potential to receive jail time.

Another major consequence of violating Kansas’ insurance laws is license suspension. Drivers who get caught without insurance may have their driving privileges revoked until they can provide proof of insurance and pay the license reinstatement fee of $100.

Getting into an accident without insurance

Getting into an accident without insurance is generally an unpleasant situation, regardless of who was at fault.

If you hit another driver and you do not have car insurance, you will be responsible for the cost of their vehicle repairs. Plus, you may have to pay for any medical expenses that are not covered by their PIP coverage. There is also a chance that the other driver will sue you to recoup more of their losses, which means you would have to pay for your legal fees, court costs and a potential settlement.

If you are uninsured and you get hit by another driver, there are still consequences. The other driver’s insurance may not be enough to cover the full extent of your loss; without your own insurance coverage to fall back on, you may have to pay for your damages out of pocket. In addition, you’ll likely be asked for your insurance information by the responding police officer. Being unable to present insurance information could put you at risk for the fines and penalties discussed above, even if you aren’t at fault.

Frequently asked questions

What if you provide false insurance information?

If you are caught driving without car insurance and you provide fake policy information, you may face serious legal consequences. Although the laws for insurance fraud are different in every state, it is a serious offense that could come with fines and even jail time.

How much is car insurance in Kansas?

In Kansas, the average cost of car insurance is $410 per year for minimum coverage and $1,698 per year for full coverage. However, car insurance rates vary based on individual circumstances. You could pay more or less than the average premium based on your age, credit tier, claim history and the type of car you drive.

What is the difference between full coverage vs. minimum coverage?

Minimum coverage refers to a state’s minimum required coverage types and levels to drive legally. State minimum coverage limits are typically relatively low; most insurance agents advise that you purchase higher limits if you can afford to. Full coverage means you are adding comprehensive coverage and collision coverage, which add financial protection for damage to your own vehicle.

What is the best car insurance company in Kansas?

The best car insurance company in Kansas is different for every driver. It depends on your personal criteria, insurance needs and budget. You may want to shop around and get several car insurance quotes to see which provider can offer the lowest price for the type and amount of coverage you want.