Driving history is one factor insurance companies use to determine your insurance rates. Things like speeding tickets and accidents may result in higher rates. If you have a DUI conviction on your record, your driving history becomes an even larger factor than smaller incidents like a speeding ticket.
How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?
If you get convicted of a DUI, Illinois and other states will consider you a high-risk driver. This comes with increases in insurance rates for several years after the conviction. The amount of time you will pay higher rates varies by car insurance company.
The national average rates are 99% higher with a DUI compared to pre-DUI rates. With a DUI in Illinois, the average rate insurance for car insurance isn’t quite as high, showing an average increase of 85% in the chart below.
National vs state average rates with DUI
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Illinois?
Insurance rates vary by company, whether or not you have a DUI conviction. The charts below provide comparisons for Illinois insurance companies, showing rates prior to a DUI and after a DUI conviction is on your driving record. The first chart shows minimum liability coverage and the second chart provides rates with full coverage.
Illinois provider rates with DUI for minimum coverage
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||Minimum coverage rate with DUI|
|J & P Holdings||$368||$915|
Illinois provider rates with DUI for full coverage
|Provider||Average full coverage rate||Full coverage rate with DUI|
|J & P Holdings||$1,468||$3,840|
Other Illinois DUI Consequences
Higher insurance premiums are just one consequence of getting a DUI. In Illinois, you can also be subject to fines, license suspension, and jail time. If your blood alcohol level is 0.8 or more, you can be charged with a DUI. Commercial truck drivers have a lower threshold at 0.4 or higher. Anyone under the age of 21 or employed as a school bus driver has a zero tolerance, or 0.0 BAC limit to be charged with a DUI in Illinois.
Impairment by a controlled substance or medication can also get you charged with DUI. Though medical and recreational cannabis is legal in Illinois, if you have five nanograms per milliliter or more of THC in your blood or ten nanograms or more per milliliter in another bodily fluid (urine), you can also be charged with a DUI.
Illinois has implied consent, which means you are required to submit to a field sobriety test if asked to do so by a police officer. If you fail the test on your first offense, your license gets suspended for six months, with the option for a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID). If you refuse the test, your license is suspended for a year, and you are also eligible for the device.
If you get another DUI in Illinois within five years after failing a chemical test, your license gets suspended for a year without the option for BAIID. If you refuse the test, your license is suspended for three years with no option for BAIID.
Drivers have the option to request a judicial hearing to challenge the suspension within 90 days after the notice date. If the court rules in your favor, the suspension is rescinded and your driving record updated.
Other penalties for an Illinois DUI depend on your impairment level and whether you were transporting a minor in the car with you. Here are penalties you could receive for your first offense:
- Class A misdemeanor
- License suspension for one year if over 21 and two years if under 21
- Vehicle registration suspension
- BAC 0.16 or higher: minimum fine of $500, minimum 100 hours community service
- Transporting a minor under 16: jail time up to six months, minimum fine of $1,000 and 25 days community service benefiting youth
- If transporting a minor, involved in an accident causing bodily harm to child: charged with aggravated DUI, Class 4 felony, minimum fine of $2,500 and 25 days of community service benefiting children
For the second conviction:
- Class A misdemeanor
- Five day minimum jail sentence or 240 hours of community service
- Five years license suspension
- Suspension of vehicle registration
- BAC of 0.16 or higher: minimum fine of $1,250 and 2 days in jail
- Aggravated DUI: Class 4 felony
- If transporting a minor, involved in an accident causing bodily harm to child: Class 2 felony, mandatory $5,000 fine, 25 days of community service
Third offense and conviction:
- Class 2 felony
- Minimum 10 years license suspension
- Vehicle registration suspension
- BAC 0.16 or higher: mandatory jail time of 90 days and minimum fine of $2,500
- Aggravated DUI: fine of $25,000 and 25 days of community service
- Class 2 felony
- Lifetime revocation of driver’s license
- BAC 0.16 or higher: mandatory minimum $5,000 fine
- Aggravated DUI: same as third offense
These additional consequences do not include any other administrative or criminal sanctions if convicted of DUI in Illinois and is not meant to be a full list of potential outcomes. As you can see, there are many ways you can be affected by being charged and convicted with a DUI.
What is the penalty for a first time DUI in Illinois?
The penalty varies by the results of a chemical test, if sobriety field testing is rejected by the driver, and if there was a minor passenger in the vehicle. At minimum, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor and subject to a minimum fine, license suspension, and potential jail time.
Is DUI a felony in Illinois?
Usually, a DUI is not considered a felony in Illinois until you have been caught driving under the influence for the third time. However, if you cause an accident while impaired and cause bodily harm to a minor under the age of 16, you could be charged with a Class 4 felony.
Do you lose your license for first DUI in Illinois?
If convicted, a first offense of DUI in Illinois can have your license suspended for six months. If you refuse the field sobriety test, you will face suspension for a year. You may be eligible to get your driver’s license back prior if you install an interlock ignition device on your car.
How long does a DUI stay on your record in the state of Illinois?
With a zero tolerance policy, Illinois will not remove a DUI conviction from your driving record, it will stay there for life.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.