Skip to Main Content

Auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Oregon

Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

In 2018, there were 50,099 accidents reported on Oregon roads, 27,717 of which involved driver and passenger injuries, and 446 that were fatal. Oregon’s 2018 accident rate was down 13% from the year prior, but the state still has its fair share of high-risk drivers. If you have at least one speeding ticket, one accident or one DUI on your record, you may be required to purchase high risk auto insurance in Oregon.

Rates for high-risk car insurance in Oregon

Every driver pays a different rate for high-risk auto insurance in Oregon. The average cost of car insurance depends on individualized factors like your credit score, claims history, your ZIP code, the type of care you drive and the amount of coverage you want.

Other factors that impact insurance premiums are your age and driving record, which indicate your level of risk. Oregon drivers who have at least one speeding ticket, one accident or one DUI on their record, or just recently got their license, usually pay the most expensive premiums for high risk car insurance in Oregon.

Rates after a speeding ticket

Most car insurance companies in Oregon will increase your premium after a single speeding ticket. The only exception is Oregon Mutual, which has a 0% rate increase after your first speeding violation. If you work with a larger insurance provider, expect your premium to increase anywhere from 9%, all the way up to 140%.

Besides your insurance company, another factor that will determine the cost of insurance after a speeding ticket is the number of violations you have. For instance, one speeding ticket may not affect your premium significantly, but after three tickets, your rate could skyrocket. Additionally, you will have to pay a fine each time you get a speeding ticket in Oregon.

Here are the average rate increases after one speeding ticket from some of the biggest car insurance companies in Oregon:

Car insurance company Oregon average annual premium for full coverage before a speeding ticket Oregon average annual premium for full coverage after a speeding ticket % increase
Allstate $1,790 $2,227 24%
Country Financial $1,432 $2,349 64%
California Casualty $1,518 $2,527 67%
Geico $1,355 $1,681 24%
State Farm $1,093 $1,719 57%
Travelers $1,017 $1,933 90%
Mutual of Enumclaw $1,035 $1,527 48%
American Family $1,250 $2,068 65%
USAA $1,038 $1,423 37%
QBE $948 $1,557 64%
Sentry $2,858 $3,112 9%
Nationwide $1,066 $1,939 82%
Progressive $1,265 $1,946 54%
Oregon Mutual $862 $863 0%
Farmers $1,104 $2,650 140%
Capital $1,049 $1,873 78%

Rates after an accident

If you get into an accident in Oregon, your car insurance premium will increase by a minimum of 22%. However, your rate could increase by as much as 183% depending on the car insurance company you work with.

Getting into an accident in Oregon comes with other consequences besides a higher insurance rate. You will have to pay your insurance deductible to cover any damages, and if the accident was caused by an illegal maneuver, reckless driving or texting, you will also have to pay a fine. Depending on the number of accidents you have on your record, it is also possible that you could get your license taken away.

In the table below, we included the average car insurance rate increase after an accident in Oregon from some of the top insurers in the state:

Car insurance company Oregon average annual premium for full coverage before an accident Oregon average annual premium for full coverage after an accident % increase
Allstate $1,790 $2,570 44%
Country Financial $1,432 $2,400 68%
California Casualty $1,518 $3,371 122%
Geico $1,355 $2,032 50%
State Farm $1,093 $1,834 68%
Travelers $1,017 $2,177 114%
Mutual of Enumclaw $1,035 $1,796 74%
American Family $1,250 $2,052 64%
USAA $1,038 $1,681 62%
QBE $948 $2,423 156%
Sentry $2,858 $3,519 23%
Nationwide $1,066 $2,226 109%
Progressive $1,265 $2,418 91%
Oregon Mutual $862 $1,056 22%
Farmers $1,104 $3,121 183%
Capital $1,049 $1,929 84%

Rates after a DUI

A DUI is one of the most serious traffic violations you can get, and as a result, it will also have a huge impact on your car insurance rate. After a DUI, Oregon drivers will see their car insurance premium increase by a minimum of 58%.

If you get convicted of a DUI in Oregon, it is not just your car insurance premium that you should worry about. You could lose your driving privileges, your car could get impounded, you will have to pay a hefty fine, and depending on the severity of the incident, you could also face jail time. To get your license reinstated, you will have to purchase SR-22 insurance.

The cost of Oregon high risk auto insurance after a DUI is largely based on the insurance company you have. Although the minimum rate increase is 58%, your premium could increase by as much as 252%. Here are the average rate increases after a DUI in Oregon:

Car insurance company Oregon average annual premium for full coverage before a DUI Oregon average annual premium for full coverage after a DUI % increase
Allstate $1,790 $4,287 139%
Country Financial $1,432 $2,710 89%
California Casualty $1,518 $5,339 252%
Geico $1,355 $3,227 138%
State Farm $1,093 $2,481 127%
Travelers $1,017 $2,906 186%
Mutual of Enumclaw $1,035 $1,852 79%
American Family $1,250 $2,368 89%
USAA $1,038 $2,126 105%
QBE $948 $2,587 173%
Nationwide $1,066 $3,368 216%
Progressive $1,265 $2,067 63%
Oregon Mutual $862 $1,361 58%
Farmers $1,104 $3,210 191%
Capital $1,049 $2,818 169%

Rate for teen drivers

Teen drivers typically pay the highest car insurance rates, due to their lack of experience on the road. In 2018, 19% of fatal and injury crashes in Oregon involved a driver who was between the ages of 15-20. Once a young driver reaches their mid-twenties, their car insurance premium will start decreasing, assuming they do not have any other major violations on their record. Here are the average annual premiums for teen drivers from some of the largest insurance providers in Oregon:

Car insurance company Oregon average annual premium for full coverage for a 16 year old
Country Financial $2,141
California Casualty $2,461
Geico $2,130
State Farm $1,639
Travelers $1,409
American Family $1,728
USAA $2,165
QBE $1,900
Progressive $1,919
Capital $1,855

*16 year old on their parent’s policy

Who is a high-risk driver?

At Bankrate, we define a high-risk driver as an individual who has at least one at-fault accident, one speeding ticket, one DUI conviction or one lapse in insurance coverage violation on their driving record. However, the industry-standard definition of a high-risk driver usually also includes drivers who have a poor credit score, have an SR-22 on their record or have filed multiple insurance claims over a short period of time.

How to lower your rate if you’re a high-risk driver

High-risk drivers pay the highest insurance premiums, but there are ways you can get a lower rate. If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Oregon, here are some things you can do to avoid a major rate hike:

  • Get multiple quotes: Before you choose an insurance company, get a quote from several providers and compare them to see which provider can offer the lowest rate.
  • Look for discounts: When you are shopping for car insurance, look for insurance companies that offer multiple discounts you can qualify for.
  • Bundle your policies: Most insurance companies will give you a lower rate if you insure your home and car with the same provider.
  • Take a defensive driver course: You can usually get a cheaper car insurance rate if you take an approved defensive driver or other driver safety course.
  • Raise your deductible: Raising your deductible will lower your monthly premium, just make sure you can afford the out-of-pocket cost in the event of a claim.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best car insurance company?

The best car insurance company is different for everyone. It depends on where you live, what type of coverage you need, what discounts you qualify for and how much you want to spend. To find the best Oregon car insurance for you, we recommend taking some time to shop around, get multiple quotes and compare providers using your personal criteria.

How much car insurance is required in Oregon?

In Oregon, drivers are required to carry at least 25/50/20 personal liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist liability insurance. Plus, drivers must carry personal injury protection (PIP) to satisfy Oregon’s no-fault car insurance laws.


Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually. These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

High-risk drivers
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Elizabeth Rivelli
Insurance Contributor
Elizabeth Rivelli is a contributing insurance writer for Bankrate and has years of experience writing for insurance domains such as The Simple Dollar, and NextAdvisor, among others