Interactive map of Europe

Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for .

17 euro-area member countries
Click the map to enlarge the image.
Joined in 1999
1. Belgium
2. Germany
3. Ireland
4. Spain
5. France
6. Italy
7. Luxembourg
8. The Netherlands
9. Austria
10. Portugal
11. Finland
Joined in 2001
12. Greece
Joined in 2007
13. Slovenia
Joined in 2008
14. Cyprus
15. Malta
Joined in 2009
16. Slovakia
Joined in 2011
17. Estonia

Member countries that do not yet use the euro

Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Sweden

Member states that have decided not to adopt the euro

Denmark and United Kingdom

Non-EU countries

Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Serbia and Montenegro, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia (Former Yugoslav Republic of), Albania, Andorra, Belarus, Moldova, San Marino, Liechtenstein, Vatican City, Russian Federation and Ukraine