Taxes Blog

Thursday, January 9, 2014 3:25 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The IRS won’t process tax returns until Jan. 31, but many taxpayers are e-filing now so their 1040s will be first in line when filing season officially opens.

» Read more
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 4:11 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Unemployment benefits help millions make ends meet while they look for work, but they’re also considered taxable income.

» Read more
Thursday, January 2, 2014 4:16 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

More states could see a sales tax line added to their online invoices in 2014.

» Read more
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 12:30 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Illinois’ comptroller is making the state’s tax collection and spending more transparent.

» Read more
Thursday, December 26, 2013 1:11 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

State attorneys general urge congress to extend the Mortgage Forgiveness Tax Relief Act.

» Read more
Tuesday, December 24, 2013 7:54 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The IRS will be offering more automated self-service options in the 2014 tax filing season.

» Read more
Thursday, December 19, 2013 10:32 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The 2014 tax filing season will open 10 days later than the originally planned starting date.

» Read more
Tuesday, December 17, 2013 3:03 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Travelers know that hotel, meal and transportation taxes add to their final bills. A new survey finds that Chicago tacked on the most such travel taxes in 2013.

» Read more
Thursday, December 12, 2013 12:36 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The deadline is nearing for older taxpayers to make tax-free transfers from an IRA to charity.

» Read more
Tuesday, December 10, 2013 1:45 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Deduction rates for business and medical miles, as well as for moving, will drop in 2014.

» Read more
Page 9 of 51« First...7891011...203040...Last »