Taxes Blog

Thursday, July 10, 2014 3:20 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Crowd funding is a fun and potentially lucrative way to pay for your project. It also could leave you with a big tax bill.

» Read more
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 2:24 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

A new report from the Government Accountability Office finds the IRS has been doing a terrible job of carrying out certain audits.

» Read more
Wednesday, July 2, 2014 3:50 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Celebrate Independence Day by flying Old Glory proudly. In some states, your U.S. flag purchase is tax free.

» Read more
Tuesday, July 1, 2014 12:58 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Uncle Sam is serious about getting his cut from foreign accounts. FATCA and new voluntary disclosure rules should help.

» Read more
Thursday, June 26, 2014 1:26 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Confused by all the different federal tax breaks for educational costs? The House has approved a bill it says will simplify things.

» Read more
Monday, June 23, 2014 6:00 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Don’t forget to factor taxes into your retirement plans. Underestimating them could affect how enjoyable your golden years will be.

» Read more
Tuesday, June 17, 2014 4:39 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

We can’t stop Mother Nature’s disastrous outbreaks, but we can be prepared. Taxes need to be part of any storm preparations.

» Read more
Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:40 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

U.S. Representatives say it’s time to limit federal contracts to companies that use offshore tax havens. Will Senators agree? Do you?

» Read more
Tuesday, June 10, 2014 3:20 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

A new 10-point bill of rights details what taxpayers should expect and demand in their dealings with the IRS.

» Read more
Thursday, June 5, 2014 3:14 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Big American businesses are making big use of legal foreign tax havens to lower their U.S. tax bills.

» Read more
Page 4 of 52« First...23456...102030...Last »