Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Friday, April 11, 2014 2:25 pm
By Barbara Whelehan · Bankrate.com

The Treasury and the Social Security Administration are intercepting tax refunds to satisfy old debts going back decades. Should this be allowed to happen?

Friday, March 07, 2014 2:49 pm
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

This morning’s February employment report had mixed news for the economy and for mortgage borrowers.

Friday, November 15, 2013 10:56 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

There are important differences between savings bonds and certificates of deposits.

Friday, November 01, 2013 3:54 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

No more worries about using or losing your medical flexible spending account, or FSA, money. Uncle Sam now allows you to carry over $500 in unused FSA funds each year.

Thursday, September 12, 2013 4:39 pm
By Claes Bell · Bankrate.com

A new study finds minority-owned banks tend to offer higher-than-average CD rates, especially on shorter-term CDs.

Monday, March 11, 2013 4:11 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

Ben Bernanke, Martin Greunberg and four other top regulators are named in a new lawsuit for the unsuccessful enactment of the Volcker rule.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 3:42 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

If you use some of your tax refund to buy a savings bond, you can get the savings instrument as an actual, old-school piece of paper.

Monday, February 11, 2013 3:20 pm
By Mark Hamrick · Bankrate.com

Prospects are dim for bold legislation, even after President Obama pushes for it in his State of the Union. Budget cuts and a new Treasury chief are discussion topics.

Thursday, May 31, 2012 1:50 pm
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

Think mortgage rates are low? Well, they are about to get lower.

Tuesday, April 24, 2012 8:00 am
By Rose Raymond · Bankrate.com

Happy Tuesday! Finances got you down? Whether a low bank account balance or a $4 impulse-bought breakfast sandwich …

Page 1 of 212