Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, February 04, 2016 11:10 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Use tax software? Then you could be a target of phishing scams seeking to steal your identity this filing season.

Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:30 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Sorry, Ben Franklin, but there’s a new adage about taxes: The only constants in life are taxes and tax scams.

Thursday, January 28, 2016 10:18 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

While American corporations continue to use tax techniques to take advantage of lower overseas taxes, the U.S. is a tax haven for some wealthy foreigners.

Tuesday, January 26, 2016 12:22 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

After a disaster, be sure you get all the help for which you’re eligible, including relief from the IRS.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 12:23 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Despite tighter security measures, the IRS is hopeful this filing season will be better for it and taxpayers than last year.

Thursday, January 14, 2016 12:25 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

If you didn’t win anything in the $1.5 billion Powerball drawing, you’re not alone. Even state tax collectors are losers this time.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016 11:53 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Do you have the 6 winning Powerball numbers? The IRS hopes so. Uncle Sam wants his almost 40% cut of your $1.4 billion winnings.

Tuesday, January 05, 2016 11:01 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Ready, set, file your taxes beginning Jan. 19. Or if you use Free File, you can use that online option starting Jan. 15.

Wednesday, December 30, 2015 11:22 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Wealthy people manipulate the tax code in part by supporting presidential candidates who share their tax views.

Tuesday, December 29, 2015 9:37 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

If you need a tax transcript to apply for college financial aid, plan ahead. The Get Transcript hack has slowed access to taxpayer data.

Page 1 of 6712345...102030...Last »