Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, April 15, 2014 4:25 pm
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Think twice before using your tax refund to buy a car — at least for the short term.

Monday, March 24, 2014 5:45 pm
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

Many Americans are planning to use their refund checks to buy a car, according to CarMax.

Thursday, February 06, 2014 2:55 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Some lawmakers warn a debt ceiling fight could slow refunds even more.

Saturday, April 20, 2013 6:00 am
By Tara Baukus Mello · Bankrate.com

More than one-third of Americans getting tax refunds will spend their refunds on car repairs, maintenance or buying a new car.

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 5:03 pm
By Jeff Fruhwirth · Bankrate.com

Here are five smart ways to put your tax refund to work.

Tuesday, April 02, 2013 4:35 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Various tax refund surveys find Americans have many uses for their tax refunds, from saving it to paying basic necessities to paying down debt to splurging.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 11:28 am
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

During tax season, many first-time homebuyers turn to their tax refunds as a down payment option. Is this a smart move?

Wednesday, March 06, 2013 1:32 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Refund anticipation loans are almost a thing of the past, but other costly tax-related products, and predators, are still out there.

Friday, March 01, 2013 9:41 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The federal tax agency won’t be immune to temporarily laying off workers due to sequestration, but it will postpone action until after tax filing season ends.

Thursday, February 28, 2013 1:41 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Federal furloughs because of sequestration could mean that the Internal Revenue Service’s processing of returns, and refunds, will be slowed.

Page 1 of 3123