Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:33 am
By Steve Weisman · Bankrate.com

Jury duty scams are very common for one simple reason: They work.

Tags: Scams
Tuesday, December 01, 2015 12:26 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Tax professionals are the latest tax phishing target. But all sorts of scams, particularly related to charitable giving, pop up this time of year. Be careful out there!

Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:05 am
By Jean Chatzky · Bankrate.com

Want to lower your utility bills? Follow these tips for choosing a new energy supplier.

Tags: gnews, news, Scams
Monday, September 21, 2015 12:14 pm
By Steve Weisman · Bankrate.com

Here’s how to avoid getting scammed by thieves trying to take advantage of your goodwill.

Thursday, September 17, 2015 10:13 am
By Steve Weisman · Bankrate.com

These calls are automated from the computers of a scam artist, the only criminal we refer to as an artist.

Friday, September 04, 2015 12:04 pm
By Mitch Strohm · Bankrate.com

Microsoft says never to provide a credit card number to someone claiming to be tech support.

Tags: Scams
Friday, August 21, 2015 12:08 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

Seniors can take a proactive step against ID theft by placing a security freeze on their credit reports.

Tuesday, August 11, 2015 6:05 am
By Jean Chatzky · Bankrate.com

Seniors can be particularly vulnerable when it comes to financial thievery. What’s more, the ploys are getting more sophisticated.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014 9:00 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

Despite many years of investigations by the Securities and Exchange Commission, Allen Stafford’s CD scam ran for more than a decade.

Tuesday, December 23, 2014 11:52 am
By Jeanine Skowronski · Bankrate.com

Gifts cards are a great go-to for last-minute holiday shoppers, but you need to be careful as they’re also prone to scamming.

Page 1 of 3123