Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, March 03, 2016 7:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

A fiduciary is defined as anyone named to manage money or property for someone else. Family caregivers, while not professional fiduciaries, still have strict guidelines for their conduct.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016 10:43 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

You don’t have to be a senior citizen to fall victim to a scam. While how to avoid scammers is relevant to anyone exposed to this threat, seniors are often targeted.

Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:33 am
By Steve Weisman ·

Jury duty scams are very common for one simple reason: They work.

Tags: Scams
Tuesday, December 01, 2015 12:26 pm
By Kay Bell ·

Tax professionals are the latest tax phishing target. But all sorts of scams, particularly related to charitable giving, pop up this time of year. Be careful out there!

Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:05 am
By Jean Chatzky ·

Want to lower your utility bills? Follow these tips for choosing a new energy supplier.

Tags: gnews, news, Scams
Monday, September 21, 2015 12:14 pm
By Steve Weisman ·

Here’s how to avoid getting scammed by thieves trying to take advantage of your goodwill.

Thursday, September 17, 2015 10:13 am
By Steve Weisman ·

These calls are automated from the computers of a scam artist, the only criminal we refer to as an artist.

Friday, September 04, 2015 12:04 pm
By Mitch Strohm ·

Microsoft says never to provide a credit card number to someone claiming to be tech support.

Tags: Scams
Friday, August 21, 2015 12:08 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

Seniors can take a proactive step against ID theft by placing a security freeze on their credit reports.

Tuesday, August 11, 2015 6:05 am
By Jean Chatzky ·

Seniors can be particularly vulnerable when it comes to financial thievery. What’s more, the ploys are getting more sophisticated.

Page 1 of 3123