Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, September 04, 2014 5:15 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

The number of Americans who own retirement accounts also fell over the past few years, down to 49.2 percent in 2013 from 50.4 percent in 2010.

Thursday, August 28, 2014 1:00 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

A number of U.S. banks, including JPMorgan Chase, were hit earlier this month by cyberattacks.

Friday, June 20, 2014 10:30 am
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

Don’t just walk into your local bank branch expecting to find competitive CD rates.

Friday, February 21, 2014 7:05 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

A credit union organization is awarding cash prizes to young people to encourage them to save and learn about money.

Monday, August 19, 2013 1:44 pm
By Paula Pant · Bankrate.com

Opening subaccounts earmarked toward a variety of savings goals can help you track your progress.

Friday, July 05, 2013 1:57 pm
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Savings accounts are still the best way to save for rainy day, but all accounts aren’t equal.

Thursday, June 13, 2013 12:28 pm
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

There are viruses spreading on Facebook that target your banking information.

Tuesday, May 28, 2013 4:36 pm
By Claes Bell, CFA · Bankrate.com

In the weird world of prolonged near-zero interest rates, the premium banks used to pay CD investors to lock up their money is disappearing.

Friday, May 03, 2013 5:53 pm
By Claes Bell, CFA · Bankrate.com

While plenty of people swear by using multiple accounts to save, having all your cash in one account may help you avoid rationalizing overspending.

Saturday, April 20, 2013 6:05 am
By David McMillin · Bankrate.com

A new survey shows that the majority of high school students need some more personal finance lessons before they start college.

Page 1 of 3123