Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, August 05, 2014 10:07 am
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Tax holidays continue to hang around, but many in the tax world say they are terrible tax policy and don’t really do much to boost state economies.

Wednesday, July 02, 2014 3:50 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Celebrate Independence Day by flying Old Glory proudly. In some states, your U.S. flag purchase is tax free.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 12:15 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Louisiana, Virginia and Florida are holding sales tax holidays to help residents save on hurricane supplies.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 3:47 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Marijuana supporters had predicted much more in tax revenue during the legalization campaign.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 3:19 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

States are turning to higher sales taxes to boost their bottom lines, says one recent study.

Thursday, August 08, 2013 4:49 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts and Texas shoppers will be treated to sales-tax-free shopping for at least part of the coming weekend.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013 3:43 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

A tax policy think tank says state sales tax codes are stuck in the last century. Changes for 21st century buying could bring states billions in lost taxes.

Thursday, June 20, 2013 5:19 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The Sunshine State is the latest in the growing group of states where online retail giant Amazon will start collecting sales tax.

Tuesday, June 18, 2013 3:59 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

As the economy slowly improves, states are beginning to dig out of their recession-level fiscal holes.

Tuesday, May 07, 2013 2:20 pm
By Kay Bell · Bankrate.com

The Senate passed the Marketplace Fairness Act, which would force online retailers to collect sales tax depending on where the buyer lives. But don’t start budgeting for the added tax costs just yet.

Page 1 of 212