Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Monday, January 25, 2016 3:20 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

If you’re 50 or older, catch-up contributions can help get your retirement savings back on track and correct the financial mistake of not contributing earlier in your career.

Tuesday, January 05, 2016 7:30 am
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

Here’s some advice for keeping Uncle Sam out of your nest egg.

Wednesday, November 04, 2015 4:21 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

New government savings accounts make saving for retirement easy, cheap and risk-free.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015 6:05 am
By Greg McBride ·

See why this might be a good time to consider trading in your traditional IRA for a Roth IRA.

Friday, September 11, 2015 6:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

People aren’t saving enough for retirement. Are state-based retirement plans an answer, with the requirement that employees have to opt out to not participate?

Tuesday, August 18, 2015 6:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

A fiduciary has to put his or her client’s interests first when it comes to providing investment advice. Employers providing 401(k) plans have had a fiduciary responsibility to the plan participants.

Monday, April 06, 2015 6:00 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

The issue in waiting until April 15, 2015 to fund 2014’s IRA contributions is that you’re losing up to 15 months’ worth of investment returns.

Monday, February 23, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

The Roth IRA and the Roth 401(k) are funded with after-tax dollars, but qualified distributions are tax-free in retirement.

Wednesday, February 04, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor ·

Read the fine print when you work with your investment professional. While they tend to be knowledgeable about taxes, there’s a disclaimer somewhere that they aren’t providing you tax advice.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 3:15 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps ·

President Barack Obama’s 2015 budget takes aim at Roth IRAs. Should you be worried?

Page 1 of 3123