Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, June 16, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

A GAO study finds that Social Security remains the largest component of household income in retirement, making up an average of 52 percent of household income for those age 65 and older.

Thursday, May 07, 2015 10:44 am
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Make sure politicians know that you want help planning and saving for a better retirement.

Monday, April 06, 2015 6:00 pm
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

The issue in waiting until April 15, 2015 to fund 2014′s IRA contributions is that you’re losing up to 15 months’ worth of investment returns.

Monday, March 09, 2015 7:00 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

It’s far more likely that your children can find a way to finance their college careers than it is to expect your children to finance your retirement.

Monday, September 22, 2014 7:05 am
By Dr. Don Taylor · Bankrate.com

Empty nesters and seniors facing the decision of whether to downsize have a few options.

Saturday, September 28, 2013 6:00 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

Banks can report suspected elder financial abuse to proper authorities without fear of violating federal privacy notification and opt-out rules, federal agencies say.

Saturday, May 25, 2013 6:05 am
By Barbara Whelehan · Bankrate.com

How are 401(k) investors doing? We’re doing the best we can, given the circumstances.

Monday, May 13, 2013 5:23 pm
By Paula Pant · Bankrate.com

Gradually increasing your savings rate can result in a fat retirement nest egg.

Thursday, February 28, 2013 1:22 pm
By Sheyna Steiner · Bankrate.com

CD rates are still depressingly low, but CDs have other lovable features.

Monday, January 14, 2013 9:30 am
By Paula Pant · Bankrate.com

New federal rules allow you to save more for retirement and health costs in 2013.

Page 1 of 512345