Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Thursday, April 24, 2014 3:30 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Boomers are hopeful of reaching 100; centenarians are surprised.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 4:59 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Social Security won’t be enough to support most people in retirement. Should the government require employers to help everyone save?

Tuesday, April 22, 2014 4:09 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Social Security will resume mailing benefit reports to certain recipients on key birthdays.

Monday, April 21, 2014 4:27 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Thoughtful estate planning can protect both a surviving spouse and children from a previous marriage.

Sunday, April 20, 2014 7:30 am
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Among centenarians, 81 percent are women and 17 percent live below the poverty line.

Thursday, April 17, 2014 1:28 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Divorce carefully, or as Gwyneth Paltrow says, practice “conscious uncoupling.”

Wednesday, April 16, 2014 4:28 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Olympic swimmer Michael Phelps is abandoning retirement and jumping back into the pool. Here’s what we can learn from his experience.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014 12:40 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Fewer long-term care insurance policies allow insureds to pay for home care directly, but being able to do this can stretch long-term care dollars.

Monday, April 14, 2014 3:28 pm
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Outliving your money is a big retirement risk. Here are eight ways to keep enough income flowing.

Sunday, April 13, 2014 8:00 am
By Jennie L. Phipps · Bankrate.com

Here’s an idea for a low-cost incentive plan that encourages older workers to hang around.

Page 1 of 10912345...102030...Last »