Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, June 24, 2014 7:00 am
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

Renters who want to become homeowners may improve their chances of getting a mortgage when their rent payments are reported to the credit bureaus, shows a recent study.

Wednesday, June 04, 2014 11:42 am
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

Rates may be low but majority of Americans say housing remains unaffordable.

Monday, December 30, 2013 8:00 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

As housing demand surges, many renters have been priced out of the rental market.

Monday, December 09, 2013 3:47 pm
By Steve Bucci · Bankrate.com

Our debt expert is wary about letting “non-credit” accounts show up on credit reports.

Friday, November 01, 2013 4:42 pm
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

Homeowners who are behind on their mortgage payments have become more optimistic about homeownership.

Tuesday, December 18, 2012 3:26 pm
By Polyana da Costa · Bankrate.com

Think you’re paying too much for rent? Check out how much renters in these cities have to pay.

Tags: buy, mortgage, own, rent
Tuesday, October 30, 2012 12:44 pm
By Holden Lewis · Bankrate.com

Prospective renters found fewer places available for rent in the third quarter. Yet monthly rents barely changed.

Thursday, September 13, 2012 6:00 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

The decision to buy instead of rent is easier if you calculate the numbers.

Tuesday, May 01, 2012 8:00 am
By Dan Miranda · Bankrate.com

Happy May Day! A new month brings new sales, and no one knows bargains quite like Bankrate does.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012 7:41 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Since the housing market collapsed, rental demand has increased, along with prices. But how much would you pay to live in a premier property? The owners of the tallest residential building in the Western hemisphere, in Lower Manhattan, are betting renters will pay up to $60,000 per month. That’s right: per month. The 76-story building,

Page 1 of 212