Personal Finance Advice and Commentary

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 5:24 pm
By Allison Ross · Bankrate.com

Bitcoin is going to be treated like property, not currency, for tax purposes, according to the IRS.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013 11:44 am
By Marcie Geffner · Bankrate.com

The National Consumer Law Center reports that archaic state laws force debtors into poverty.

Tuesday, October 08, 2013 12:12 pm
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

One state had 8 times the number of expected fraud investigations.

Saturday, May 04, 2013 6:05 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

The new bidders at tax lien auctions are seeking big returns.

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 6:00 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Proposed higher taxes in France are creating homebuying opportunities.

Thursday, November 08, 2012 1:07 pm
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Real estate investors are facing potentially higher capital gains taxes next year.

Tuesday, October 02, 2012 11:42 am
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Wealthy homeowners and property investors may be hit with a confusing surtax.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012 5:15 pm
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

Unresolved tax issues of the so-called fiscal cliff could raise the cost of selling property.

Monday, June 11, 2012 6:47 pm
By Judy Martel · Bankrate.com

The volatile stock market is forcing investors to move into tangible assets.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012 11:09 am
By Dan Miranda · Bankrate.com

With the cost of tuition, textbooks, kegs and Dayglo going through the roof, many Americans are beginning to doubt the value of a college education.

Page 1 of 212